Tags

, ,


Darling hubby announced today that a colleague would be celebrating his birthday tomorrow. Normal wives I’m sure would be a little thrown off by this announcement but I jumped at the chance to make this co-worker a lovely vegan birthday cake. I love baking vegan treats or even ten-course meals for others, especially non-vegans. His lordship wouldn’t allow me to make a birthday cake (he gets shy) but did allow me the right to make birthday cupcakes to be taken in to his work. I dabbled with the idea of making a full blown cake but I was good this time and stuck to normal cupcakes. They were still vegan though – even though you can seriously not tell the difference.

My creation this time was classic vanilla cupcakes, recipe coming from Cupcakes Take Over the World cookbook. I’ve used this recipe on a few different occasions such as another birthday cake that I topped with a dark chocolate ganache. You can find the recipe online many places such as on Food.com, Culinate, and even on the Post Punk Kitchen website. It’s not a secret recipe so I’m sure you can all make it and fall in love with Isa Chandra just like millions of us vegans out there. My only changes this time making the fluffy white cupcakes: canned coconut milk instead of soymilk and I tossed in about 4-6 tbsp star sprinkles to make the batter polka-dotted.

As a topper I had planned on piping cute spirals of Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting but unfortunately I believe I have lost a few parts to my piping bag. Since it was a cheap one and not really worth looking for a replacement parts, I tossed it out. Then I went for the whole baggie trick – yeah, which didn’t work since the bag broke and went all over the place. Haha, I was a rightful mess by this time and a little irritable so I just smeared it on and sprinkled a few decorative stars on top (hopefully it’s not overstated as my hubby requested). The frosting turned out to be delicious but I have to admit I’m still miffed that my piping bag had to die just when I needed it to work. I’m sure it will be overlooked though when the guys eat them tomorrow. (crossing fingers)

To make the Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting:
1/4 c vegan butter (I used Earth Balance)
1/4 c vegan cream cheese (I used Trader Joe’s This is Not a Tub of Cream Cheese)
2 1/2 c confectioners’ sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Beat all the ingredients together until smooth. The mixture does get slightly hard after a few minutes so make sure if you are doing sprinkles to use them right away before the frosting dries.

Enjoy! (Amazingly I managed to eat only 1/2 of one, I won’t mention how much frosting ended up in my mouth though…)  The Furry Baby was keeping a close eye on them for a long time though… So funny!