Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday I found a bag of fava beans, only a partial one from making ful madamas the other day. I searched for new recipe ideas and thankfully I came across a recipe on one of my favorite vegan chefs’ site, PPK.  The recipe that caught my eye was the Lemon Garlic Fava Beans & Mushrooms – everything that we had in the house already. Oh, yea!

I easily took my dry fava beans, tossed them in a small Crockpot with enough water and started it on high for about an hour. When the beans come out of the Crockpot, they should be slightly firm on the outside and soft on the inside. I like to just break one in half to assure they are done (then I pop it in my mouth- shh). A quick rinse of the cooked beans to remove gas making properties, and then I was off to make this super easy recipe. It was so easy and the finished product reminded me so much of my favorite Arabic foods. The final dish tastes a lot like a slightly less creamy Ful Madamas but with American herbs – aka Thyme. The moon sliced onions give it a slight crunch and the vegetable sauce gives it a homey creamy texture to well round the entire dish. We served the bean mixture with organic wild rice, artisan salad and a partial piece of Trader Joes Baked Tofu. Totally Perfect!

Here is how I made this in my kitchen (changes were made according to what was available in my kitchen). See the original in the link above.

2 teaspoons olive oil
1 small onion, cut into thin half moons
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp ground thyme (only had ground – gasp!)
8 oz cremini mushrooms, sliced in half
2 tablespoons breadcrumbs (Only had whole wheat crumbs)
2 cups vegetable broth (I use Better Than Bouillon- organic vegan)
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
Juice and zest of 2 limes (I didn’t have any lemons)
Lots of fresh black pepper
3 cups cooked fava beans (I had to use 1.5c fava & 1.5c chickpeas)
Optional: Slivered green onions for garnish

Preheat a large pan over medium heat. Sauté onion in oil for 5 to 7 minutes until slightly browned. Add garlic and thyme, and sauté one minute. Add mushrooms and cook to release moisture, about 5 minutes.

Add bread crumbs, toss to coat everything and toast crumbs for 3 to 5 minutes. Add vegetable broth, black pepper, salt, lemon zest and juice and fava beans. Bring to a boil. Let reduce and thicken, 7 minutes or so. Taste for salt and seasoning and serve, topped with green onions.

Nutrition Facts
4 Servings
Calories216.0
Total Fat4.3 g
Saturated Fat0.5 g
Polyunsaturated Fat0.9 g
Monounsaturated Fat2.0 g
Cholesterol0.0 mg
Sodium957.1 mg
Potassium555.3 mg
Total Carbohydrate38.3 g
Dietary Fiber5.9 g
Sugars1.5 g
Protein10.8 g