Tags

, , , , ,

27 Weeks Twin Belly Bump VeganOur last week in the 2nd Trimester, hard to believe next week we will be celebrating our last trimester of this vegan twin pregnancy.  Things have been rather smooth this week but there have been some changes due to the weight of the twins and my overall  mobility.  As you can tell by the photos, the twins have definitely grown this week.  It’s rather fun now going out in public, people are very polite and tend to ask if we are having a boy or girl.  When I mentioned 1 of each, the moment of silence and confusion is priceless.  Click on the link if you are interested in finding out more information about my vegan twin pregnancy.

NOTE: THESE PHOTOS ARE COPYRIGHT PROTECTED, YOU MUST HAVE WRITTEN AND SIGNED PERMISSION FROM ME TO POST OR SHARE IN A REPOST ON ANOTHER SITE.  ALL PHOTOS ARE TAKEN EARLY ON THE FIRST DAY OF THE NEXT WEEK, SANS MAKEUP AND ANY SPECIAL HAIR TREATMENT.  PREGNANCY MAKES A WOMAN SO GORGEOUS, I FULLY EMBRACE EVERY SECOND OF MY APPEARANCE DURING THIS TIME.

Month Due: June 2017

Twins Gender: Boy/Girl

Food: Pretty much back to normal, last week I had a hunger increase, this week it came back to normal.  My doctor mentioned I would go up and down in hunger however near the end I would probably not be able to eat much.  Thankfully this has not occurred yet, as you all know I’m a foodie.  I’ve been loving salads, fresh spring fruit and homemade vegan rolls.  Nothing really special, just trying to get as much protein as possible.

Cravings: Still not really anything out of the ordinary.

Aversions: Nothing still…

Prenatal Vitamins:  Deva Prenatal Vitamins, Solgar Vegan Prenatal Folic Acid supplement and Vegan DEVA DHA.  All of my supplements are plant-based and 100% vegan, no fake ingredients.

Symptoms: My stomach continues to get more heavy, it is felt more after sitting for a long period of time once I stand up.  Thankfully I still do not have back pain due to the increase. Getting up off the sofa or bed is a bit more difficult though, it takes a bit more time than the last few weeks.  Talking about being slow, I am also walking slower.  Not only does it feel better on my stomach but I can last longer on my feet than if I were to rush around.  (Something Genki Husband is having issues getting used to right now since he’s naturally a sprinter.)  This is  a normal symptom though as the babies get larger, the mother has more issues with mobility.  I’ll take it as long as the babies are healthy and happiness growing away inside.  To go along with the added twins’ weight, I am having more issues with my hips being sore after a period of time laying on a side.  This happens mostly at night as I sleep on my sides (which by the way, the right and left side are okay to sleep on).

Milestones: This week we had an OB/GYN appointment, not a perinatologist appointment so we have no exact measurements of the twins.  According to the charts, each baby should be just over 2.5lbs, equaling 5lbs of baby inside me.  My personal weight has gone up to around 19-20 lbs in total, right on track. Right now my OB/GYN hopes for me to gain at least 1-2 lbs a week, more “would not hurt”.  He knows I eat extremely healthy, so the extra weight would not be harmful weight.  He’s extremely happy with the entire pregnancy so far.

I’m Excited About:  Our next perinatologist appointment next week, since our last appointment went smoothly, we were allowed to go 3 weeks instead of 2.  So I am thrilled to see the twins and learn how much weight they have gained and see the differences in their ultrasound images.  I love comparing the photos each appointment since they change so much each time around.

I’m Nervous About: Every day I am worried about my cervix and if my estimates on my activity is too much for the twins to handle, or my cervix.  A singleton pregnancy it is said to exercise as much as possible however when one is growing more than one baby inside, things are much more complicated.  During the first trimester and part of the second I think if you are healthy pre-pregnancy, it is completely healthy to exercise.  However, as my body has told us, one should be extra careful because just walking around is a big task when carrying two babies inside.  A multiple pregnancy is completely different from a singleton, something it is very had to understand if you have never had multiples.  So my worries are always my cervix holding up and the growth of the twins inside.

Exercise:  Still the same light exercise such as prenatal yoga, pilates and also light weight lifting of 6lbs.  Although I do have to admit, I have been a bit lazy on the exercise front because I am trying to lay down as much as possible to assure full-term babies.  So, basically my exercise is doing laundry (I do not carry it), cooking and light cleaning around the house.  The other day I did pick up the furry baby, gasp!  I think I lived through it even though Genki Cat is a bit of a chunky one.

Other thoughts and feelings:  Even though I am feeling more pregnant, as my OB/GYN asks each time, I am so thankful for each day the twins are growing inside my stomach and not born early.  This experience is once in a lifetime, so I plan on taking it easy and enjoying the little joys in it all.  For instance, I love feeling the babies play with each other at times in my stomach.  Each time we have an ultrasound we notice they are either facing each other or right next to each other.  This last week, Baby Boy had his bum in his sisters’ face.  Not very pleasant but I think it was because she was starting to invade his side of the stomach.  The twins are side by side, not on top of each other as is more popular with twins sharing the same sac.  Our OB/GYN always has to take a double look to see exactly how they are laying as they are always right next to each other.  So adorable, I just know they will love each other outside the womb just as much.

Note:  If you have any suggestions for a twin pregnancy, I would love to hear your comments.  Or just anything in general, advice is always accepted and appreciated.  Books and medical professionals can only give so much information, personal experience is sometimes much better than anything else.

