Tags

, , , , ,

23 weeks twin pregnancy belly bump vegan

23 weeks now complete, hard to believe we are now in what is called the “vitality week”.  This is a big week to go into since it means our twins now have a 50-70% chance of survival if born early (praying for the long haul though).  A multiple pregnancy, such as this one, is considered high risk so every day closer to a heathy birth is another day of blessings.  We can’t wait to meet our twins but we will wait until they are healthy and ready to come naturally, so for now we share with all of you all that we do know about them.  This week we had another perinatologist appointment and will share more information about our findings.

Month Due: June 2017

Twins Gender: Boy/Girl (Announced Here)

Food: Absolutely no problems with selections of foods, I can eat almost anything I loved pre-pregnancy days.  This last week though I could have cried though, I ate brussels sprouts and these tasty delights did not settle in my stomach.  Well, let me rephrase that, they settled however around bedtime, I felt the bloating creep in and disrupt my evening.  Regular cabbage is still fine but for some reason the steamed sprouts can not be on our table for the next few months.  Hopefully this doesn’t mean they don’t like Brussel Sprouts, oh no!  Thankfully this is the only thing so far that hasn’t settled, it could possibly have been just the steaming of the sprouts too, I don’t know.  Other than that, I am loving food as normal.

Cravings: There still has not been a certain Hollywood style craving that I have noticed thus far in this twin pregnancy.  I eat a pretty clean diet, as it is, so it is not really a surprise.  I have noticed though my stomach space is getting a bit smaller, so I am having to eat smaller amounts, more times a day.  It works out in the daytime however around dinner time it is a bit more hard, especially as I tend to make heartier meals for Genki Husband which are heavy in the stomach.  Additionally, I have added a small dessert after dinner to add up the calories (lbs).

Aversions: Nothing still…

Prenatal Vitamins:  Still Rainbow Light Vegan Prenatal Vitamins and Vegan DEVA DHA.  Additionally, I love to add nutritional yeast on just about everything for the protein and B12 content.

Symptoms: Braxton Hicks False Contractions finally did me in this week.  We went to our perinatologist appointment this week and found out my cervix for some reason had shortened from February.  Normally the cervix does shortened throughout pregnancy but not at the rate mine had experienced.  Hence, I was put on partial bedrest as a precautionary action to assure it was not preterm labor.  I’ll go into to the information later in another blog.  According to my normal OB, my length was just shorter than my team of experts had hoped as I am having twins and less than 24 weeks (vitality week).  So, best rest it was for me and these little twins.

Milestones: The twins are now 1lb 4oz each!  They are actually right on target and their healthy checkup via ultrasound was perfect.  Everyday they grow more active and are constantly playing games in my stomach.  My weight is still right on target also, 1lb a week, recommended for the 2nd trimester by my OB/GYN.  All people I know think the baby weight so far has gone just into my belly region, non-known people are amazed I am pregnant with twins.  All I worry about is the health of the twins and right now I am 100% on course with my doctors’ plans and the twins are too.

I’m Excited About:  Organizing the nursery with clothes and other items for the twins as they come home from the hospital in 3 months (or whenever they show their adorable faces to the world).  It’s getting so close, we just can’t wait to see them, but for now we are in preparation mode.  Our Pack ’n Sleep rockers have arrived and I put them together before I went on bedrest, so adorable!  There is a photo on Instagram if anyone is interested.

I’m Nervous About: Our next perinatologist appointment is next week, I’m very nervous of the results of my cervix after being one week off from it.  Lately, with all my free time, I have been reading more forums on cervix lengths and the treatments.  Unfortunately I have not seen many positive bed rest patients, most have to continue on with bed rest until the end of their pregnancy.  So scary to think this might be something I have to do for another 3 months.  It’s worth it in the end but right now it is very depressing and also worrisome.

Exercise:  Um, does walking to the bathroom a million times a day count?  Since I was getting too much exercise before my last appointment, I have been told I cannot do any exercise at all.  The only thing I am allowed to lift is my plate.  A completely different lifestyle than I am used to however I am okay with it as long as the twins are safe and continue to grow properly.  Please remember this is a twin pregnancy, it is completely different from a singleton pregnancy.  Many people get that confused, it is much more difficult on the body and holds many more precautions.  So, many singleton expectant mothers can exercise up until the end if they want, however for twin pregnancies, many expectant mothers stop working out in the very beginning.

Other thoughts and feelings:  Things are pretty calm here, just taking my week of relaxation in strides.  My OB/GYN laughs and shakes his head when I tell him 1/2 the stuff I normally do, he’s probably laughing right now at the thought of me trying to stay still for an entire week.  Again, anything for the twins health and safety…

Note:  If you have any suggestions for a twin pregnancy, I would love to hear your comments.  Or just anything in general, advice is always accepted and appreciated.  Books and medical professionals can only give so much information, personal experience is sometimes much better than anything else.

