Tags

, , , , , ,

Vegan prenatal vitamins

As with everything in life, there is a lot of mixed views on taking daily prenatal vitamins (and postnatal).  There are a lot of vegans out on the blogosphere stating their choice to not go along the supplement path, while the other portion are completely for supplementation.  That’s why today I want to share my opinion and reasoning to give all of you another contrasting view.  A lot of research has been conducted on my part, along with advise from my OB/GYN whom is handling our twin vegan pregnancy.

Note: The photo was taken in 2017, so the bottle appearance may be slightly different than when you go to the stores, depending on the date.  This is not a stock photo. 

There’s been some recent research stating multivitamins are not going to reduce the risk of cancer and cardiovascular disease, rather a nutrient-rich diet does such as with a healthy vegan diet.  The research results shared a meager increase in health, compared to just diet alone.  The only sound research as of late states taking iron, DHA, Vitamin D and folic acid supplements are beneficial to unborn babies as a mothers’ daily nutrient levels need be increased for the higher demand.  Iron should be increased only if your blood results come back low, or anemic.  On the other hand, throughout the history of prenatal vitamins, research has found supplementation does increase the health of babies and expectant mothers.  So again, even in research studies, there is no sound evidence either way, it is a personal decision.

Personally, I knew I wanted to take a prenatal multivitamin for the health of our unborn children (even before we knew we were having twins).  My diet has always been very healthy, before and during pregnancy, so it was not really a concern if I was getting enough nutrients on a daily basis.  My thought process was there growing human-beings inside of me, I am in charge of their health, I want to make sure I do everything possible.  Even if there is a meager increase in health of my babies, I want to assure they have that extra protection and possible higher success rate.

A few months before trying to conceive naturally, I started taking DEVA Vegan Prenatal Vitamins.  My blood tests before conceiving were perfect for years, no health issues at all.  It has been found taking prenatal vitamins before conception actually increases the potential of conceiving, so it was only natural for me to take a tiny, natural, organic vitamin.  Again, why not?

Picking the correct prenatal vitamin can be extremely tricky, there are a lot of options on the market in America.  Other countries around the world, I am not sure.  I chose DEVA since the brand is 100% vegan, natural, organic and have heard multiple other bloggers take this vitamin with success.  DEVA claims they put in just the right amount needed, not even getting close to the UL (Tolerable Upper Intake Level).  These vitamins are 100% plant-based, nothing fake or chemically created in a laboratory, aka safe for the human body.  The company also makes the statement that all their vitamins are “GMP certified and, FDA regulated facilities to achieve high quality” and are “registered by the Vegan Society, a non-for-profit organization”.

When I went to my first OB/GYN appointment, Genki Husband and I found out we were going to have twins.  My OB suggested to take an additional supplement of DHA (Omega 3) and Folic Acid, since my supplies might not be enough naturally with multiples.  If I were not having multiples, I would have not been given this suggestion and would have stayed with the DEVA Prenatal.  I searched high and low for an added 500MG of Folic Acid, as the OB suggested for the second baby, finding most supplements contain 800mg.  So I made the hard choice of switching to the brand Rainbow Light, a vegan plant-based multivitamin that had the necessary folic acid requirements.  Folic Acid is the most beneficial in the first 3 months of pregnancy, afterwards one can stop taking them but it does not hurt to take it the entire time.  I plan on finishing the complete bottle and then going back to the DEVA Prenatal.  Additionally, I started taking DEVA DHA, a vegan algae source of Omega 3.  This one I will take the entire pregnancy for the added health insurance of the twins’ brains.

So my main reasoning for taking prenatal vitamins were to have that added health insurance for my babies.  Again, I eat a very healthy diet and exercise regularly, so it was not absolutely necessary.  Would I do the same if we had more children in the future?  Yes, absolutely, since I know I have done everything possible to help them rolling along their expected growth process.  Would I condemn anyone for not taking them, absolutely not, it is a woman’s choice and a mother’s intuition.  For me the peace of mind was worth the price of taking an all-natural, vegan vitamin daily.

Whether you are pregnant or thinking of it, I urge all of you to do your own research for taking compared to not taking prenatal vitamins.  With everything, it is a mother’s own choice on what to digest so there should be no judgements.  If you go to a doctor that urges you to take prenatal vitamins, remember it is your final choice, no one can force you to take them.  Doctors get incentives if you decide to go with their multivitamins, so he/she will push them as much as possible.  Every pregnancy is different , so go with your heart.

