Tags

, , , , , , ,

what I ate vegan

It’s been a long time since I have done one of these posts, sharing all my inner most secrets… I mean what I have been searching on our table as of late.  Truthfully, some of these photos are about as old as we have been in California.  I know, I know, blogger failure here, at least can I earn bonus points for attempting to catch up on old times?  Shun me if you wish, just please don’t force me to hand-in my blogger license.  For now, I’m going to go attempt to hide my blogging license while you can enjoy the photos with recipes, when available.

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins Vegan RecipeThese little treasures may not be winning the appearance award at the next 4-H Fair but wins the highest marks in the taste category. After the first bite, taste will trump all other categories and you will be dressing for war to get another one before all are gone.  Normally, these should be made into bread or even in a muffin tin but this was one of the above mentioned photos while we were in an extended stay living condo which contained one roasting pan.  We bought a few pans to serve as “Swiss army knives” of pans to extend the length of stay until we found a house.  Tip:  If you are in the same situation without a muffin tin, simple place muffin liners in a small brownie pan and bake away.  The muffins come out rather square but, hey, if pastry shops can sell donuts square let there also be square muffins.  Recipe

how to make muffins without a muffin pan

Let there be square muffins!  It’s your kitchen, you can do whatever you please.

free recipe chocolate chip scones

All of you must be asking, why another chocolate chip breakfast item?  Genki Kitty loves sweet breakfast, maybe this is where he gets his sweetness from in personality.  This is one of our favorite recipes to make in the morning because it is one of those dishes that appearances/tastes as if one spent a long time in the kitchen but in fact took less than 20 minutes.  Recipe (Add chocolate chips)

vegan tempeh chili free recipeAnother staple of ours, cold or hot days, we just can’t get enough of this recipe.  This is not your traditional chili recipe but anything that has beer as a background flavor wins my vote.  We use thick Guinness beer to enhance the flavor of this dish.  (Not sponsored by Guinness but would love to be since we are rather fond of it.)  Recipe

Tofu vegetable free dinner recipe vegan These ingredients are 95% of the time always in our kitchen, so one night I just tossed them together as a staple dish in our menu plan.  We love to toast cubed tofu, sprinkled with a little mixed herb spice or just seasoned with salt and pepper.  In the other dish I stir-fried frozen corn kernels, frozen sweet peas, sliced zucchini, and baby spinach.  If you are new to eating tons of vegetables, without butter, simple season with your favorite seasoning or salt and pepper.  My personal preference when I want seasoned vegetables is cajun seasoning, then I toss everything over a mixed bed of lettuce or wrap in a flour tortilla shell or two.  Easy dinner and full of nutrients/minerals.

Tofu and Vegetable Dish over grains free vegan recipe

Basically the same recipe as above but with an additional 1/2 onion and cooked quinoa.  This is a simple recipe that can be served in many ways, depends on what you have available in your kitchen.

The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf teaLiving in California, we are in love with all the new options available from local companies.  This is a tea I tried out the other day and fell in love.  I’ve heard of this local coffee/tea shoppe however never had the chance to try it out.  This was offered to me at a hotel and I was thrilled to test it out, since then I have fallen in love.  It is light but is wonderful on days you want some caffeine but feel like tea instead.  The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf.  Still haven’t gone into the shoppe but have it on my To-Do List.

Vegan Options in Tehachapi, California, USA Big Papa'sNot everything has been created in my kitchen, we have had plenty of time out exploring our gorgeous new state of California.  Genki Husband had a small group of colleagues go out for dinner one night (families in-tow) to a restaurant called Big Papa’s Steakhouse & Saloon.  Being a steakhouse, we were not too excited of the possibilities of many options off the menu for vegan diners.  We were correct, there were no option available.  However, our server was very kind and knew exactly what vegans ate and we were thrilled to be offered an option of an off-the-menu portobello sandwich.  Slightly less than confident of the taste, we decided to share the dish (as we tend to do at new restaurants to save money just in case it doesn’t turn out).  Genki Husband loved the sandwich however I was less than thrilled as it was a bit too grilled for my taste (I’m not a blacked on the grill type of person).  We ended up fighting over the french fries though, I would go back just for them.  So if you are in the area, definitely go in for the fries and ask for this vegan option.  The staff is very friendly and really wants your experience to turn out.  The meal turned out to be less than $20, so not the lightest on the budget but it is an option.

What’s been on your plate lately? Any suggestions?  

