Tags

, , ,

Fall Recipe for apple filled croissants vegan

My mother used to make these croissants when I was young filled with apple pie filling.  You probably have seen the type she used out of a can or from a bag sold at GFS stores.  Although I only have one biological sibling, my parents took in many others from around the world.  It was very uncommon to have just the four of us at the breakfast table; hence, she had her hands full making large batches for an army.  In my case, seeing as we just moved to Indiana less than a year ago we do not have a large army to feed.  So this smaller version was just perfect for Genki Husband to get a taste and share with his colleagues at work. (Remember I don’t care for warm fruit.) Get the recipe and a baking video at the link.

Normally I do not use a processed package of anything in my baking items but this time around I made an exception because I was feeling a bit lazy.  We all have these sort of days though right?  So I figured why not make it as easy as possible and share with my fellow lazy day couch potatoes.  If you are not feeling as I was on this day, go ahead and make your own dough.  It will be great either way!

Vegan Apple Filled Croissant Recipe and Video

The ingredients for this super easy recipe that will please just about everyone.

Vegan Apple Filled Croissant Recipe and Video

Let’s start with slicing the apples.  Tip:  Make the slices very thick, maybe quarters so assure the dough is completely full.  Type of Apple: My apple was actually from a neighbor that grew it in his own front yard.  It was not super sweet but if you can find one that is, this recipe will be even better.  Any will do just fine though.

Vegan Apple Filled Croissant Recipe and Video

Open the scary “pop” packaging (who else jumps every time?) and roll out the pieces.

Vegan Apple Filled Croissant Recipe and Video

Vegan Apple Filled Croissant Recipe and Video

Once everything is laid out, sprinkle on the sugar mixture and add an apple to each piece.

Vegan Apple Filled Croissant Recipe and Video

Did I mention this was super easy?  Here’s a screen shot from the video of the completed rolls awaiting the vegan butter spread.

Vegan Apple Filled Croissant Recipe and Video

Don’t forget to spread the vegan butter on liberally, it helps the topping to stick.

Vegan Apple Filled Croissant Recipe and Video

All done – these were a bit burnt because I still have not mastered the gas oven compared to our old electronic oven.  Still the same taste though.

Vegan Apple Filled Croissant Recipe and Video

Then when you finally open up the croissants, the apple is shown in full glory.

Apple Filled Croissants Recipe

This recipe was brought to me by The Blond Cook over Pinterest.  It was not a vegan recipe but was easily changed to be so.  There were some major changes I made with the recipe seeing as I did have some problems with the original one.  This could be down to different oven types or just our location.  Either way I wanted to make sure you had how I made these rolls to be sure yours come out okay.

Makes 8 small croissants

 

  • ¼ cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon apple pie spice (I use a homemade one with cardamom)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons vegan butter, melted (I used Earth Balance)
  • 1 small Granny Smith apple, cored and sliced into 8 (1/2-inch) slices
  • 1 (8oz) pkg vegan approved crescent rolls
  1. Preheat your oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat.
  2. In a small bowl, combine brown sugar and apple pie spice. Set aside.
  3. Melt vegan butter and toss apple slices in butter, set aside.
  4. Arrange crescent roll triangles on baking sheet. Sprinkle on the sugar mixture onto each triangle.
  5. Place an apple slice on the wide end of each triangle. Wrap crescent roll dough around each apple.
  6. Brush each crescent roll with remaining vegan butter. Sprinkle lightly with additional apple pie spice.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until golden brown. Cool for 5 minutes before serving.

 

 

Note: Instead of apple slices you can use berries or another sold fruit of your choice.  You could also add chopped nuts or coconut shreds.  Endless possibilities!

Since this recipe was so easy, I wanted to share a few more photos than normal and see what ya’ll think of the layout.  Do you prefer more photos?

