Tags

, , , , ,

Butternut Squash Fall Soup Recipe

Life is unpredictable so there are times when people will have to have surgical procedures.  Before you get worried, no I did not have surgery we really were in Texas.  A friend of ours did have a spot removed from her throat so when she safely returned, she was in a lot of pain.  It is at times such as these that make it difficult to eat.  Although I still have my wisdom teeth, I have heard many people have this same issue when returning after getting them removed.  So everyone will probably have a time when solid food is not wanted and/or tolerable.  For me, I love smooth soups and crave them more in the fall than compared to winter months when all I can dream of is hearty stews.

Butternut Squash Fall Soup Recipe VeganThis smooth fall soup can be made vegan or if you only have non-vegan broth on hand I guess you can settle and make it anyways.  I’ll try not to judge.  I used Vegan Better Than Bouillon Chicken-free broth but vegetable or any other broth would work just as nice.  Additionally I chose to use coconut milk (lite) instead of any other nondairy milk because we only had vanilla flavored types in the household.  My love vanilla is profoundly large but not as far as a sweet soup.  If sweet soup is your thing (or want to serve it cold), go ahead and add sweetened vegan milk.

fall soup recipe

Serves 4-6 Cold and Hungry People

1 onion, coarsely chopped

1 tbsp fresh sage (rosemary would work too)

1 medium butternut squash, peeled, deseeded and cubed

1-2 small apples, peeled, cored and cubed (optional, I didn’t do this time but have before)

6 c vegan chicken-free broth

1 c coconut milk (I used canned but refrigerated would work too)

1/2-1 tsp salt

Fresh Cracked Pepper, to taste

  1. Lightly spray a medium-sized soup pot.  Sauté the onion over medium to high heat until golden brown.

  2. Add the cubed squash and apple (if using), sauté for a few minutes just to bring out the natural sugars in the vegetable and fruit.  

  3. Pour in the vegan approved broth and bring to a boil.  Once at a boil, turn down the heat to a simmer for about 10 minutes or until your vegetables are fork tender (aka, a fork goes easily through).  If you are impatient like me, go ahead and boil the entire time, just be nearby to watch to assure it does not overflow.

  4. Place all the ingredients into a blender or immersion blender if you have one.  Blend until smooth or the desired consistency.  Normally I leave a few it a bit thicker than completely smooth, since this is how Genki Husband likes it, but this time around I went completely smooth for my friend and her needs.

  5. Place the soup base back into the pot and add the rest of the ingredients.  Bring to a simmer over low heat and do so until the soup is back up to temperature.

*Note: Any Squash or pumpkin will work. **This soup is great right off the stove but you can also have it as leftovers for about 1 week.  Additionally I like to freeze a serving for days I don’t want to cook.  Frozen it will stay good for a few months.

Butternut Squash Fall Soup Recipe Vegan

To make this a full meal I went back to my Japanese roots and made steamed white rice and had the soup together.  This is something I would have eaten in Japan for sure!  Only difference is it has a lot less sodium content than Japanese soups.

