Tags

, , ,

what a vegan eats

Finally we have come to part 3 of this series on what a vegan eats.  There is really so much to share with you, it’s hard to mention everything that one can eat.  If you have any questions, please feel free to leave a comment or message me.  I love hearing from all of you!

what a vegan eats

This is traditional Korean Chapchae homemade by me. I love making this dish as it makes a ton and can be eaten for about a week. After a week the noodles get a bit hard and soggy at the same time, it’s very strange. I love to put tons of extra veggies in mine and sometimes even toss in some cubed tofu.

what a vegan eats

This is something we do eat a bit more often than other dishes. It is a fresh salad with tons of greens. Then we top it with seasoned tofu and zucchinis that have been grilled outside. Then we drizzle it with homemade vegan ranch dressing and place a pickle on the side. Super delicious! It can vary upon the vegetables that are in season.

what a vegan eats

Usually we make sure to cut up a block of tofu into four servings so that we can have leftovers the next day. This was the same above seasoned tofu over a ton of mixed veggies that I steamed. It’s perfect with a side of freshly cut fruit.

what a vegan eats

This is something I whip together really fast called Japanese Teriyaki Tempeh with Broccoli. It’s a play on Beef and Broccoli that is well-known in America as a Chinese dish. I love to make mine with tempeh and homemade teriyaki sauce. I sprinkle it was hijiki (type of Japanese seaweed) and steamed broccoli. On the side is pickled ginger and quinoa.

what a vegan eats

Depending on what’s in the kitchen I do try to make double amounts of everything so that I can use an item for a few meals. This reduces cooking time and costs for electricity/gas. This is the same above seasoned tempeh over a homemade flour tortilla, over baba ganoush from Whole Foods Market and topped with fresh romaine lettuce (cos).

what a vegan eats

You can use whatever type of mock meat you want to make this teriyaki dinner. I used Beyond Chicken (vegan) for this round of a Teriyaki dinner. I make my own teriyaki so if you do buy yours please make sure it is vegan and hopefully MSG free.

what a vegan eats

This is another idea for a fast lunch idea or even dinner since the nutrients are in there, it’s just simple to put together. These are BOCA vegan burgers (about 70 calories so I eat 2 at once) over a bed of steamed mixed veggies. Note: If you buy organic veggies with nothing but the veggies listed as the ingredient you are good to go. There is nothing fake or less nutritional about these types of bagged foods. Of course fresh is always a little bit more nutrient enriched but if you live in a cold place, you have to go with these sometimes. On the side is vegan mayo and ketchup. I learned this in Japan about mixing the two together which is popular. I also do this with sriracha and also gochuchang. Anyone else do this?

what a vegan eats

Here’s a nice way to make an easy vegan Mexican dish for dinner in minutes. It contains a tortilla (you don’t have to make your own), vegan approved refried beans, steamed veggies, sauteed onions and some sriracha. Super easy and it contains just about everything a human body needs. Depending on what you like you can add just about any veggie you prefer and add as much as you like. There’s no rules here just no animal products.

what a vegan eats

This is another easy dinner when you are super busy and you have nothing left but some lettuce and some leftovers. A lot of the time I just toss a few leftovers from a restaurant over some fresh lettuce and it’s a simple new meal. Sometimes when you eat out there is just not enough fresh veggies for the nutrients your body needs so I like to do this in an attempt to feel better when I am eating fat-filled Mexican leftovers for 3 days straight.

what a vegan eats

Another favorite of ours in the summer months is making Japanese style vegan soba. Soba is buckwheat flour made into noodles. It is accidentally vegan but double check with the brands before buying. These should be cold when eating and dipped in ice cold sauce. I make my own sauce but you can purchase a veganized one too if you have it available in your area. Just make sure it does not contain Dashi (bonito, fish). I like to add cubed fresh tofu and scallions. Simple and easy. It can be made ahead by at most two days.

what a vegan eats

BBQ portobella steak on a bed of lettuce with vegan ranch dressing is perfect for summer BBQ parties. Simply BBQ the mushrooms with nothing on them – they contain a lot of hot liquid so please be careful! Then I place them on top of a bed of fresh lettuce and some tomatoes. As an added touch I use homemade vegan ranch dressing.

what a vegan eats

This is something I really like on days I know I am working out a lot at the gym or taking a long run in the hot summer sunshine. I make my homemade vegan mac n chez sauce and place a ton of gluten-free corn pasta and peas in a Korean pot and steam everything together.

what a vegan eats

Vegan breakfast of champions! This is tofu scramble, vegan approved English muffin and some vegemite! I like to make our scramble with tofu, garlic and onion powder and a little cumin and turmeric. Super easy – I’d say faster than making eggs too! Then of course I have an addiction thanks to my Australia little sister to vegemite. If anyone wants to every send me some, please feel free!

what a vegan eats

Gardein vegan fish-less and chips dinner. We make this lots but unfortunately the price of Gardein fishless fillets have gone up to almost $4.99! Yikes! I would love to make it homemade but have no recipe just yet. Suggestions?

what a vegan eats

Homemade Nice cream from bananas and water topped with sprinkles and a few dark vegan chocolates. This is Genki Husband’s favorite type of vegan ice cream and it’s super, super inexpensive!!! Store bought can be around $5.99-11.99 in our area but we can make this for less than $2.

what a vegan eats

Oh my goodness! This just came available in our local Whole Foods Market and I am 100% addicted! This is the only kind I have found to like, G.H. loves just about any but prefers the chia seed filled ones. I just can’t handle the texture of the chia seeds ones for some reason. This I could drink every day and be happy! It does come at a price though but I can drink it slowly.

what a vegan eats

This is something that we love to have in our household – popcorn! We love the kind that is made with coconut oil and/or olive oil. Normally we do make our own but sometimes we buy the bagged kind so it’s portable. We also enjoy La Croix naturally carbonated water that I believe is from Canada.

what a vegan eats

Normally we just make vegan ice cream at home because Genki Husband loves something cold on hot days. I’m not an ice cream fan so I usually pass it up for fresh watermelon. This was on sale the other day in our Whole Foods Market so we decided to test it out. It’s very tasty but I have to say I would not give it to my kids in the squeeze container it comes in since it’s very messy. The taste is great but the packaging is not.

what a vegan eats

Of course we love to have tea in our household of all kinds and from different places. Each time we travel to a new place, we look for locally grown products. This tea was when we went to Australia – it is produced in NSW. It’s called Madura and worth the purchase if you are in the area. It’s not a strong black tea but rather mild and delicious.

Finally we come to an end of this series for now. If you loved it please let me know and I will continue to write more in the months to come.  If you have anything else you would like to see, please  let me know and I will work on it.  Hope all of you are having a terrific weekend!

