Tags

, , ,

Vegan S'mores

So many times when I meet people for the first time, I get asked the same question.  “What do you eat then?”  As a vegan, one has to get used to this question along with the dreaded “where do you get your protein” question.  It is second nature to me but it can be difficult at times to explain everything we eat without coming across a bit snarky.  For instance when I’m in an irritable mood I normally say, “anything that God gave us to eat” or “anything without a brain.  Normally I just suggest fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds etc.  There is seems to be a misconception on what vegans eat, it’s not hard and can be very rewarding health-wise.  A healthy vegan has the potential of having more energy, being more positive minded and contains a general conscience about where his/her food is coming from for each meal.  Each vegan is different but this is my general belief…  See what I eat on a normal basis, you might be surprised.

What a vegan eats

Not going to lie, we do eat vegan junk food on occasion. Genki Husband loves to have some vegan s’mores (made with Dandies Vegan Marshmallows) in the summer months. My favorite dessert in the summer is hands-down watermelon. I could eat a watermelon a day and be a very happy lady. This was our first one this year- yes I take a photo of them all.

what a vegan eats in the summer

Papaya is great for medicinal purposes although it is extremely hard to get in Indiana, USA. I love it but it’s hard to get one that will ripen without rotting – it takes weeks and then goes instantly bad.

what a vegan eats for breakfast

Summer fruit is always the main attraction on our table – this was a breakfast of cantaloupe and mango. So delicious!

what a vegan eats for breakfast

Acai bowl made at home since we don’t have any acai restaurants around here. I buy frozen acai packets from Whole Foods Market and then add as much fruit as possible. This time I around I added chia seeds, mango, banana and strawberries.

what a vegan eats in the summer

Chocolate Chip Scones for breakfast – not a bad way to start the weekend. We had this in the morning while sitting outside with our coffee – so delightful! Then we shared the rest with our neighbors. Just goes to show you can have your sweets and share them too.

what a vegan eats

Even if we have a sweet baked item for breakfast, we always have to add freshly cut fruit. Delicious!

what a vegan eats for breakfast

If you follow me on instagram you already know about my addiction lately for breakfast. I’m trying to cut down on the sugar in the morning oats so I started doing this little treat. I have regular cooking oats or Irish Oats, made with water and no sugar. Then add some sprinkles (almost no sugar) and then 1/2-1 tbsp peanut butter. This last week I started to use PB2 instead of peanut butter to reduce the sugar even more.

Vegan Korean Gimbap and Chapchae

Homemade Vegan Korean Gimbap and Chapchae. (sushi roll and pasta dish). These are two of our favorite Korean dishes for the summer months because both can be served cold and last for days.

Homemade Korean Kimchi

Homemade Korean Kimchi. I love making my own because a lot of the time the store does not have vegan varieties, most contain anchovies. I used to love anchovies but they are a fish so no more.

what a vegan eats

Homemade pickles using farmer’s market pickling cucumbers and reuseable jars from the store. Green inspired and delicious.

what a vegan eats

On rather lazy nights I will use a mixture of frozen veggies and stir with fresh Japanese steamed rice and some curry powder and other spices. Then I top it with cubed curry tofu and Korean Red Pepper Paste Gochuchang.

what a vegan eats

A soup I like to make a lot for myself for lunch since I work from home is this zucchini pasta soup. It has peas, corn, zucchini, broth and some wakame (seaweed). This changes up for what we have in the kitchen. Usually it is a ton of veggies and some broth.

what a vegan eats

Vegan Sausage veggie soup in a vegan beef broth. This is another version of the previous soup. I used vegan beef-free broth (better than bouillon), gluten-free corn pasta, mixed frozen veggies and 1/2 a vegan sausage chopped. I topped it with kimchi.

This is going to be a part of a series that I am going to share with all of you since there is so much confusion with what a vegan eats.  Hopefully all of you will enjoy it.

