Tags

, , ,

It’s that time again, I want to share 13 recipes with you from Pinterest, my cookbook addiction.  There are so many recipes from so many talented everyday household chefs I just can’t contain myself from attempting to test each and every one of them (which of course won’t happen but I can believe).  So here is my edition of new recipes to share with all of you to enjoy at home.  If you have found any great options share with the rest of us in the comments section below…

1.  Vegan Chia Seed Pancakes from Running On Real Food (Winner):  This was super easy to put together (I don’t understand why people buy the boxed pancake mixture when it takes seconds to toss higher quality ingredients together for a great breakfast.  The chia seeds are used instead of the eggs and it contains less sugar (no processed sugar).  We have make this a few times since the first trial.

Basic White Bread Vegan Recipe

2.  Basic White Bread from Elephantastic Vegan (Loser):  The name of this bread tastes the same as it tastes- basic.  To make a very good loaf of bread one must simple add a few simple ingredients, one being salt.  This recipe did not contain any and hence did not have enough flavor.  If you are taking all sodium out of your diet, I would recommend this but for flavor I would add some into it.

3.  One Pan Mexican Quinoa (Winner):  No idea where this photo went because I know I saved a few just to share with all of you since it was so tasty.  No idea where it went. Sometimes I take photos on Genki Husband’s cell phone but he doesn’t give me the photos afterwards, haha.  Not the best method; I guess I should change that to make it better for all of us.  It was super delicious though and really easy to put together.  Highly recommended.

Chawli Masala Recipe Vegan

4.  Chawli Masala from Yummily Yours (Loser):  What can we say?  There was just not enough flavor to make this again.

Japanese Curry Pan Recipe

Japanese curry vegan recipe

Had to make Japanese curry first though – from a box roux.

5.  Curry Pan from Instructables (Winner):  As you all know I love making curry and I love eating curry pan.  It’s a Japanese thing but totally worth a little effort to make these little treats.  I wanted to make this as close to the traditional method as possible but healthier in a sense that I was not going to deep-fry like they do in Japan.  Deep-frying in oil kills the flavor of ingredients and adds unnecessary fat and calories.  I made this recipe as the directions stated but then I tossed the buns in the toaster oven and skipped the whole oil bath.  They turned out even better than the original!  So delicious!

BBQ Chickpea Chopped Salad with Avocado Ranch Dressing Recipe

6.  BBQ Chickpea Chopped Salad with Avocado Ranch Dressing by Garden Grazer (Loser):  While technology there is nothing wrong with this recipe, it just did not bring anything to the table except for nutrients.  The chickpeas being seasoned with BBQ is nothing new to us and the dressing was very watery and lacking in any certain flavor.  We just found this to be okay.

7.  Aloo Bhindi Bhujiya by Indian Khana (Winner): Indian food is very special in our household because it brings back many memories of living with my college roommate from India.  She missed food so much that while living in the USA her parents paid an older couple to make her food almost daily and deliver it to our dorm-room.  We ended up sharing each others food (we didn’t have a cafeteria).  This recipe brought me back to those days.  We will be making this again.

Sausage, Potato, and Spinach Soup Recipe

8.  Sausage, Potato, and Spinach Soup (Winner):  Let me start with the statement that we both loved this recipe!  G.H actually said it was in close competition to Hungarian Stew I make with vegan sausages- which he absolutely loves!  It looks a bit watery at first but it is super rich in flavor that makes a perfect savory dish.

9. 30 Minute Coconut Curry by Minimalist Baker (loser): Missing Photo…  This was a simple curry dish that was super easy to put together.  It tasted like curry and was easy to put together.  For me personally I thought this was a bit too sweet but Genki Husband liked it.  So it’s a win-lose situation.  He did not ask for it again though so maybe it was not as good as he had hoped.

10.  Protein Powder Puppy Chow by Food Faith Fitness (Winner):  For some reason I seem to be missing some of the photos and this is one of them.  I tried this recipe with 1/3 of the protein and then I substituted the rest of the outside powder with the traditional powdered sugar.  Vegan protein powder can be a bit strong in flavor at times so I try not to go overboard with it so I did less for the first attempt.  Gladly this worked out just fine.  It added some more protein and subtracted the calories from sugar content.  I would definitely do this again with our Vega Vanilla Protein Powder but probably not 100%.  I would highly suggest!

11. Healthy Creamy Mexican Kale Salad by iFoodReal (Winner)

Mango Curry Tofu Recipe

12.  Mango Curry Tofu by Vegan Richa (winner in taste but takes a long time): This recipe really was intrigued me since it contained an entire mango – which Genki Husband and I are in love with right now.  Fresh fruit is popping up all around our stores right now (some even locally grown) so we are trying to eat as much as possible before the winter season comes around and nothing is available.  We really enjoyed the taste of this curry, it is a mild mixture of all tastes (aka sweet, spicy, savory…).  If asked if we would make this again.  Well, I would have to say probably not because there are a lot of steps that must be taken and while most of them were with a blender, it was just not worth it in the long run.  If you have a good amount of time on your hands, by all means go for it!

13.  Vanilla Chia Pudding by iFood Real (winner): This was super easy to put together and we loved this actually as a warm morning breakfast.  To make this you must first plan ahead- that’s really the hardest part of the entire recipe.

Vegan Buffalo Chickenless Salad Recipe

14.  Vegan Buffalo Chickenless Salad by Blissful Basil (winner):  This uses jackfruit from a can (so if you can find it in your stores (usually Asian stores), it is super delicious.  I actually have made something like this before so I did not follow closely to the recipe but then again it’s very basic and easy to there really is nothing to really worry about messing up.  Easy and delicious!

Fresh Corn and Quinoa Salad Recipe

15.  Fresh Corn and Quinoa Salad by Aggie’s Kitchen (winner):  Nothing too out of the ordinary here but the tastes all mix together nicely for a side dish.  I would say this would be great for a BBQ picnic with friends since the ingredients aren’t “too vegan” and everyone that loves quinoa and corn will love this too.

So these are a few of the recipes that I have been tossing together after our evening workouts.  We have been super busy with work and daily workouts that I have not had the time to get into the kitchen to create many new recipes.  I will soon be posting some but for now I think it’s fun to see what everyone is doing at the moment.  What have you had lately on Pinterest that you would like to share with other Genki Friends?

