Tags

, , , , , ,

Vegan tempeh reuben recipe There are so many healthy recipes (and, ahem, some not so healthy ones) that I want to share with all of you.  Just because you are vegan or want to eat healthy does not mean you have to deprive yourself.  Eating is about getting the nutrients into your body to keep it fueled for the day.  Just because you want the essential nutrients does not mean you can’t have some fun and/or enjoy your meals.  Food is not an enemy, it is a dear friend that keeps you moving.  So check out these recipes and menu ideas and enjoy yourself.

Tempeh Reuben Sandwich Recipe Tempeh Reuben Sandwiches are really easy to put together – much easier than the original sandwich. Sometimes Genki Husband loves to have a sandwich for a picnic so I tend to make something with either tofu or tempeh. Tempeh is an Indonesian dish made by fermented soybeans. Doesn’t sound the most pleasant but it is very tasty. It can be a bit bland plain though so I highly suggest you make it with a marinade or other seasoning. It holds up nicely (as long as you don’t use too much sauce). Best yet, it is very healthy. It holds 31g protein for just 1 cup of tempeh! Hello Macros! It is also high in magnesium, potassium, iron and Vit B-6. This recipe came from a blogger that I read weekly over at Olives for Dinner. Fun fact: Erin and her husband moved to the exact location in California that we were supposed to move to and at the exact time we were supposed to go there. So weird! Not sure if that is a fun fact or not but it’s interesting to say the least. So go on over and check her site out, you will be deeply impressed.

Traveling vegan food When I make hot meals to-go I tend to package it in containers such as these. I am actually a hoarder of clean boxes from take-out. Is that gross? Occasionally restaurants around here will package a food item (like pitas) and then place in another container, totally not necessary. So as a greenie I tend to save these containers and reuse them. This is such a container. Then I use aluminum foil to wrap the hot items such as the sandwiches and then take it to-go. Everything stays warm for at least an hour. These are the tempeh reuben sandwiches as stated above with homemade baked fries.

Tuscan bean soup You Are What You Eat Vegan You Are What You Eat Cookbook Lima Bean Soup with Cabbage. So Delicious and can be made vegan. Unfortunately I can not give you this recipe because it is from a copyright cookbook but you can see a similar recipe on Gillian McKeith’s website page from Channel 4 in the UK. Look at the Tuscan bean soup. I added sauerkraut to my soup, well, because I can and wanted to…

You Are What You Eat Cookbook by Gillian McKeith Vegan Another recipe from the You Are What You Eat Cookbook by Gillian McKeith. This one is a type of soup but less broth. It is made from Chickpeas and lentils- so much protein! It also contains a lot of necessary nutrients for not so many calories. I really highly recommend this cookbook – we love it in our household! We just wish she had made more cookbooks and shows!

Comfrot Vegan food Gardein Fishless Filets and Fries. This reminds me of Australia so much – just wish the ocean was closer to our house and my Australian family. These are homemade baked fries and sliced pickles. Which this reminds me, I need to pickle my own cucumbers this year. I haven’t done it in a long, long time and seeing as my grandmother doesn’t do it anymore, it’s time for me to be a big girl and do my own. Unless any of you want to send me some?  And no, we aren’t sponsored by Gardein but would be interested since we eat them all the time. haha

Eggplant and Chickpea Coconut Curry Vegan Recipe Pinterest Winner or loser? Well, this Eggplant and Chickpea Coconut Curry has to be a loser I am afraid. It smelled so amazing when I was preparing it but then the taste was really not there. You can find the original recipe on my Pinterest Board called Pinterest Winners and Losers. I think it just lost it’s flavor because it didn’t have any type of strong curry powder in it. It is a curry just not a strong one that we like in our household. If you don’t like curry, maybe you will enjoy this one.

Lidia's Italy Cookbook Review Lidia’s Italy Polenta and Spinach Dish from the Lidia’s Italy cookbook. This can be made vegan! Sorry, this is another recipe I can’t share because it is from a cookbook but you can buy the book here. Unfortunately most of the recipes are not vegan.

You Are What You Eat Cookbook Soup You Are What You Eat Cookbook Soup recipe with cabbage and lima beans. Yum!  Same as above.

Leftover Vegan Dinner Idea Occasionally I just toss together a whole bunch of veggies (frozen or fresh) and mix it up with soy sauce and rice. This is one of those days when I had frozen veggies, rice, smart vegan dogs and broccoli and no time. Tossed it together with a little soy sauce, nutritional yeast, garlic powder, onion powder and ta dah!

Lazy Vegan Dinner Idea Here’s another one of those days – minus the broccoli because I ate it all! Mmmm

Hopefully I am giving all of you some ideas on what to make next week.  Any suggestions for me?

