Tags

, , , , ,

Pinterest Winners and LosersLately I have been thinking it is the perfect time to start something new and change up the posting schedule.  Seeing as in my household we now use the term, “pinterest’ing, as a verb I thought maybe I can share with all of you the joys and failures of testing our recipes from Pinterest.  If you have not already done so, please follow me on Pinterest

Vegan Strawberry Coffee Cake Muffin Recipe

Strawberry Coffee Cake Muffins Let’s start off with a winner! I made these with Genki Husband on Sunday for a special sweet treat in the morning with fresh strawberries. It’s spring, so this is the perfect time for these treasures. I did veganize these so the structure of the muffin is not as solid so I might suggest not eating these on the go. If you have a napkin or plate though, you are all set for an adventure of senses. The original recipe came from Living Better Together Website.  To make Vegan:  Use Vegan butter (or oil), Vegan milk (or water but sacrifice some flavor) and 1 tsp ground flaxseed instead of an egg.

Nutritional Information per 1 muffin (makes 12): 301 Cals, 8g fat, 614 sod, 72 potassium,  55g carb, 1 fiber, 39 sugar, 2 protein
Vegan Strawberry Coffee Cake Muffin Recipe

We were out of cupcake liners (gasp!) but I used a silicone cupcake tray and the muffins came out easily. The shape is right but the structure when warm is a bit shaky – or was it because we can never wait until they cool down?

Quick Tofu Cauliflower Korma Recipe

Quick Tofu Cauliflower Korma Yes, yes, yes! Natalie you are going to love this one I think (you can serve with meat if you would like and it would turn out). Super easy this recipe is and oh my the taste will asking why you didn’t make a double batch. Genki Husband wrote me a love message the next day after making this one for his lunch again. Haha When he writes that he has loved a recipe the next day, that’s really saying something for sure! The original recipe came from a delightful website called Yummy Beet.  I made this the same as the original but with double (okay, maybe there was triple) the amount of garlic.  Yum!

Nutritional Information (Serves 4): 316 Cals, 16g fat, 1232 sod, 1451 potassium,  31g carb, 11 fiber, 14 sugar, 18 protein
Bean and Farro Salad with Cilantro Apple Dressing Recipe

Bean and Farro Salad with Cilantro Apple Dressing – vegan recipe for any side dish or entree. Perfect for the summer months! This is actually the second time I have made this recipe. The first time I skipped a few ingredients but this time I changed it up and followed it almost exactly – yep they both turned out fantastic! The dressing is thick so you won’t miss traditional mayonnaise in this recipe. I’m thinking about making this to take along for pot luck picnic’s this summer. The original recipe comes from Honest Fare, a website I really enjoying reading often.  (Oh, I did double the beans and used Quinoa though for more protein.)

Nutritional Information (Serves 4): 302 Cals, 4g fat, 571 sod, 425 potassium,  45g carb, 6 fiber, 1 sugar, 20 protein
Avocado & White Bean Salad with Vinaigrette Vegan Recipe

Avocado and White Bean Salad with Vinaigrette Yep another winner! I’m not sure if it was because we were hungry or just that all the recipes were chosen wisely this week. I’m guessing it’s the latter because this salad was super delicious and I am thinking about having it once again today. It is light in flavor, don’t think strong vinegar taste, so I believe it would go great at just about any picnic this summer under the sunshine. The original recipe comes from the website Forever After Blog. It’s a super easy recipe to put together so for once I didn’t change anything. It’s great just the way it is! For the nutritional facts below I did make it for 4 servings just in case you wanted to make it for a family dinner but it would easily make enough for a small party of 8. It stays fresh in the fridge for days so you can make it ahead and serve later.

Nutritional Information (Serves 4): 206 Cals, 7g fat, 11 sod, 694 potassium,  29g carb, 7 fiber, 4 sugar, 8 protein
Avocado & White Bean Salad with Vinaigrette Recipe

Close Up Photo

Avocado & White Bean Salad with Vinaigrette Recipe

To add some more nutrients in for the day, I placed my serving over a bed of romaine lettuce. Did you know this light lettuce has a ton of nutrients compared to it’s counterparts that are darker?

Savory Breakfast Sausage Recipe Vegan

Savory Breakfast Sausage Links Okay so not everything was as good as I had hoped – I really wanted to like these I mean look at them! Unfortunately there was just hardly any flavor to these breakfast sausages and the recipe took a long time to put together. It could just be a personal opinion but I would not recommend this to my friends or to you fellow readers. If you want to prove me wrong, which I hope you can, try out the original recipe on a fantastic site called VegFamily.

What recipes have you tested out lately that you are loving?  Let me know in the comments section, I love to read your messages!

