Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Crunchy Thai Salad Recipe

This is Crunchy Thai Salad that we made a while back – delicious every time.

Yep there is more to share with all of you from the photo reserves on my hard-drive.  I’m so far behind as you call tell, every time I post another installment of this series I feel guilty for being so far behind.  Hopefully all of you will forgive me!  After I am finished with catching you all up, I will start posting normal daily blogs and hopefully soon vlogs!  For now though, please enjoy the photos and recipes below the link.

Barley Mushroom Soup Recipe

Barley Mushroom Soup. This does not look like much in the photo but this is actually super delicious. It fills you up instantly. See the recipe here.

Filipino (Pinoy) Style Lentil Soup

Filipino (Pinoy) Style Lentil Soup that I made vegan. This is super easy (lately that’s all I’ve been cooking it seems) and makes a ton. I made this with 3 vegan Tofurky vegan sausages instead of ground vegan sausages. We would make this again and again. Mmmm The recipe come from the Manila Spoon website.

Chocolate Coconut Macaroons Pinterest Failure

Chocolate Coconut Macaroons that were supposed to look like Girl Scout Cookies called Samosas. Unfortunately these cookies were very difficult to get to stick together and look like the original photo. The recipe did not contain enough of the chocolate and did not appear the same as the original. Unfortunately I think this was a Pinterest failure.  It could have just been me though, who knows… If anyone has made this and it worked out, please brag to me in the comments section.

Mustard–Dill Sauce (Gravlaxsås)

Mustard–Dill Sauce (Gravlaxsås) for salad- made vegan. Switch the heavy cream with vegan non-dairy milk such as almond milk (unsweetened). It’s a bland dressing but it’s good on those days when you aren’t feeling the heavy dressing. I believe this is a Swedish recipe.

Tomato, cucumber, avocado salad vegan

Tomato, cucumber, avocado salad that I converted to vegan.  Simply change the feta cheese in the recipe with cubed tofu and you have a full vegan salad for a meal.  Tasty but nothing special that I haven’t already made.

Chiaseed Raspberry Jam Recipe

Chiaseed jam that I saw on pinterest and fell in love with how simple it was to make. The original recipe was from Cookie + Kate which is a great website that contains this jam recipe on top of oats. I knew from the appearance I had to make this for Genki Husband. I have made jam before and it is super easy but never have I made it where the thickener is chiaseeds – perfect! This worked out great and tasted just like traditional German jams. If I were to make again, I would make sure to either use another berry or strain out the seeds. We both loved this jam and will make again, especially in blueberry season in the northern states here.  Tip: I reuse jars that have a built in seal – they do seal again and I have never had any issues with the food spoiling.  This is a ver green way of preserving foods.

Vegan Options at Jimmy Johns

Finally a restaurant eat that might help those of you that want to eat vegan while out and about but no vegan options in sight. This sub is from Jimmy Johns – it’s the vegetarian sub. It has some lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, avocado and onions. Not fancy or all that filling but when in a pinch, it is an option. Jimmy Johns if you are reading, please add more options for vegans in all states. Thanks.

Vegan Options at Jimmy Johns

Another view of this sandwich…. It’s not really that much to talk about now is it Jimmy Johns? (end of rant)

 

