Tags

, , , , , , ,

Raspberry Almond Scone Vegan Recipe

Can you tell raspberries are still in season this week?  Raspberries are definitely one of my favorite berries thanks to my grandmother.  Each spring we would run down to my grandmothers house who lived a field away in the country to ask of the status of her raspberry patch.  As the days turned closer my sister and I would do this on a daily basis- I do not think my grandmother minded too much.  Finally when we could not wait any longer and my grandmother handed us a pint basket, we would go pick our own berries.  Now that I think back I’m sure this was a good thing for my grandmother since we had a deal we would eat some put make sure an equal amount got into the baskets for her kitchen.  These berries were fresh from the plants and did not need to be cleaned.  There is something about eating fresh produce straight from the land isn’t there?

Vegan Raspberry Almond Scones Recipe

Look at that inside!!! It was pink, crumbly and super-delicious!

So when I saw raspberries were once again on sale and available in this week I knew I wanted to make some raspberry almond scones.  I created this super simple recipe to share with all of you and our entire family.  Enjoy!

2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/3 tsp salt
1/2 cup oil
1/3 cup sugar
2 tsp almond extract
1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I used vanilla unsweetened almond milk)
Frosting:
1/2c powdered sugar
1/4-1/2 tsp almond extract
1/4-1/2 tsp almond milk
 
1.  Mix all the ingredients together in a large.  (who has time and energy to make all those separate dirty dishes).
2.  Place the slightly sticky dough on a piece of wax paper and form into a circle.  Slice the scones into 6 equal pieces like a pizza pie.
3.  Place the scone slices onto a prepare cookie sheet or sil-pat.
4.  Bake at 400F for about 10-15 minutes.
5.  Drizzle the scones with the frosting.
 
Note:  This is not a weight loss recipe but it is vegan.  If you are a strict weight loss diet, I would highly suggest not making the frosting.  It is just as good but without the extra calories from the dense calories of powdered sugar.  Or you can just budget your calories for the day to enjoy them.
 
Nutritional Info
  • Servings Per Recipe: 6

Amount Per Serving

  • Calories: 394.7
  • Total Fat: 18.6 g
  • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
  • Sodium: 265.7 mg
  • Total Carbs: 53.2 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 1.2 g
  • Protein: 4.4 g

Copyright © 2014 Genki Kitty – All Rights Reserved
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial         No Derivatives 4.0 International License.

