Tags

, , , , , ,

Vegan Breakfast Casserole Recipe

America has been shoveling snow for a few days now and with all the white snow comes very cold temperatures.  All of you Genki Friends know I dislike cold weather so it comes as no surprise to all of you loyal readers that I have been craving warm breakfast items instead of cold oatmeal with chiaseeds.  Normally I make breakfast dishes on the stove if it is free but this morning I was given the rare opportunity to be able to use the oven.  Hooray!  So I went ahead and whipped this casserole together with the ingredients we had on hand.   (Includes nutritional facts)

Whipping this dish together does take a bit of work so if you are planning on making this casserole, I highly suggest you make it the night before and place in the refrigerator or give yourself extra time in the morning.  Basically you make everything first and then toss it in a casserole to warm up-as the biscuit crust bakes under the heat.

In the end we liked this dish but found it to a bit more work than just making traditional American biscuits with tofu scramble and sausage. It is fun to test something new and have a different version though so if that is what you are looking for by all means go right ahead.  For a better idea of the taste, think Vegan English Muffin sandwich made with tofu ‘eggs’, vegan sausage on top of a biscuit.

Vegan Breakfast Casserole Recipe

After cutting the casserole into sections the contents pretty much stuck together without the addition of Vegan Cheese. Note: We did not wait until it was cooled.

The original recipe did call for vegan cheese but it is hard to find in our area and when we can find it, it is very pricy.  We left it out but were impressed with the cut pieces to stick together.  I would think if you used vegan cheese one would be able to cut a slice and eat in a car or at work.

I did attempt to follow the recipe but I went astray once again.  You can find the original on the ever popular Namely Marly Website.  I made this recipe as seen below:

Biscuit recipe:  The same as the original (link above) but without vegan buttermilk, I used plain almond milk.

Tofu Scramble: I used my own recipe of scrambling together one 16oz package extra firm organic sprouted tofu, 2 tsp garlic salt, 2 tsp onion powder, 1/2 tsp turmeric (coloring, not for flavoring), 1/2 tsp cumin and some black pepper.

Sausage Crumble:  One tube Gimme Lean Vegan Approved Breakfast Sausage.  This can be purchased at most grocery stores in my area so I assume it is available in most around the nation but I could be wrong.  I know in WalMart it is available in the produce section next to the tofu.

In the end we probably would not make this again because it does seem like a lot of extra work and time.  For me, I would like to just toss some American biscuits together and place in the oven.  While they bake, I cook the sausage and tofu scramble.  If you do make this, I highly suggest using (2) 16oz packages of tofu and 1.5 tubes of Gimme Lean sausage.  While the casserole did turn out, it just seemed as though there was not enough on top of the biscuits.  But again that is just a personal opinion.

Nutritional Info
  • Servings Per Recipe: 6
Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 271.1
  • Total Fat: 3.0 g
  • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
  • Sodium: 1,147.0 mg
  • Total Carbs: 43.3 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 5.4 g
  • Protein: 17.3 g

Copyright © 2014 Genki Kitty – All Rights Reserved
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial         No Derivatives 4.0 International License.

