Tags

, , , , ,

Clean Eating Chocolate Zucchini Muffins RecipeHave you ever come across a recipe that you really wanted to love since it was healthy and all natural ingredients?  This was the breakfast that hit both of those targets.  We made these to place in the freezer and have as either as either a snack or breakfast item.  Zucchini is still available in our stores, so I figured why not make it this weekend.  Unfortunately they did not come out as we had planned.  We love all the ingredients so we thought these would be a perfect fit.  Genki Husband I knew probably would not like the flavor since it contained only maple syrup which can sometimes get lost as a sweetener with other ingredients in baked items.  For me, I liked the muffins but the texture was a bit off for me.  These are more moist muffins than crumbly, which I prefer.

On a positive note, the muffins contained only healthy ingredients and were under 300 calories per muffin.  I’m sure a lot of you would love these if you find breakfast muffins to be too sweet.  If you are one of these people, I urge you to test this recipe out.  There are a lot of other good recipes on the Whole Foods New Body website so I would never deter anyone away with a simple dislike for one recipe.  Everyone is different and everyone has his/her own preferences.  Ashley has an adorable website and a lot of great ideas, I’m sure everyone of you will find something you love.

The original recipe can be found here.  Additionally as with all the recipes I test or create, I have added the nutritional facts below for your viewing.

Nutritional Info
Servings Per Recipe: 12

Amount Per Serving
Calories: 218.9
Total Fat: 2.1 g
Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
Sodium: 200.6 mg
Total Carbs: 49.1 g
Dietary Fiber: 3.8 g
Protein: 4.0 g

Copyright © 2014 Genki Kitty – All Rights Reserved
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial         No Derivatives 4.0 International License.

