Tags

, , , , ,

Mexican Refried Bean Soup Vegan Growing up in a small town it was hard to be internationally driven, especially when trying to find things locally.  The small town I grew up in was basically an old-fashioned thinking, so it was not until I was in high school did a foreign restaurant open and it was Chinese.  I believe this restaurant lasted maybe about 1 year?  Right now there are two Chinese “style” restaurant (most of it is American- think steak egg-rolls). Yep, that’s all still today!  There was a Mexican restaurant but it moved out of town after about a year. After high school I went on a binge of testing out different cultures and eating ethnic foods.  When I was young I remember going to the Caribbean Islands and Mexico for vacation but never really tested out too much – but it is where I grew for my love of spicy foods.

Hence, when I heard of re-fried bean soup, I knew I had to test this recipe out a few years ago.  The original recipe was from another source and required using the crock-pot for an entire 6-8 hours.  The original soup recipe was delicious but it just took too long to make for my hungry crowd at home.  So I made this recipe this last weekend after being inspired by a recipe from Food.com.

  • 1 (16 oz) can fat-free re-fried beans
  • 1 (16 oz) pkg frozen kernel corn
  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained (look for no salt added or reduced sodium)
  • 1 c vegetable broth(I used Better than Bouillon Vegetable Broth)
  • 1 (14 1/2 ounce) can stewed tomatoes
  • 1 c kale, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2-4 tsp cumin, ground
  • 1 c cilantro, chopped, to serve

Toss everything except the cilantro in a large soup pot on high.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer for about 10 minutes.  Serve with cilantro on top.

Note:  For more flavor, simply add hot sauce, salsa or even a few spicy peppers in the mixture.

Nutritional Info
  • Servings Per Recipe: 6
Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 168.9
  • Total Fat: 0.2 g
  • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
  • Sodium: 665.8 mg
  • Total Carbs: 31.2 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 11.6 g
  • Protein: 10.5 g

Copyright © 2014 Genki Kitty – All Rights Reserved
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial         No Derivatives 4.0 International License.

