Tags

, , , , ,

Vegan Chunky Navy Bean and Tomato Soup Recipe

Soup is of course a must during the autumn season here on the North Eastern Coast of the USA. It is not exactly freezing but not exactly warm either at nightfall. This is okay with Genki Husband and me since we love soups, it’s really the best method of tossing in a ton of ingredients without too much thought. Soups generally in our household contain everything a human body needs in just one pot, called a one-pot meal. If you look down below at the nutrition facts information provided, you will see what I mean by healthy.

Now let me start by stating I am not a warm tomato fan, minestrone soup is my deepest of soup enemies. (Well, if that were possible…) This recipe was picked out by Genki Husband because he loves tomato based soups and we had kale sitting in the freezer just chilling. It was a no-brainer for him and I was willing to ignore my taste-buds for a few days for him. Thanks to the usage of vegan vegetable broth, the soup was not too “tomato’y”. This recipe does make about 4-6 servings and I have eaten it twice without too much pain. Genki Husband absolutely loves it though and he mentioned he wouldn’t mind it again. So I guess this is another winner! The original recipe came from In Pursuit of More Website which is a new one for me but an instant favorite. Note: I changed the name to chunky because we had ours chunky instead of creamy.

So on to my substitution and suggestions to make this vegan:

  • Drop the honey and use a substitute like coconut sugar or agave nectar.
  • Reduce the sugar substitute to 1 tbsp instead of 3, there’s no need for more.
  • Boost the kale to 4 cups – why not it shrinks and we all could use more.
  • Double the garlic since it gets lost with the other ingredients.
  • Use Reduced Sodium everything from the tomato paste to beans.
  • Skip the 1 tbsp to sweat the vegetables and reduce to 1-2 tsp.
  • Spike this with sriracha or other hot sauce on super cold days, it’s warming.
  • Double the vegetables if you’d like, it can’t hurt.

All in all we liked this recipe and will probably make again as maybe a side dish, since I’m not 100% sold on it being the main dish. We also found this freezes well in a sealable container.

Nutritional Info
  • Servings Per Recipe: 4
Amount Per Serving: (according to the ingredients I used)
  • Calories: 337.4
  • Total Fat: 8.3 g
  • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
  • Sodium: 2,854.0 mg (reduce the salt above and this will decrease drastically)
  • Total Carbs: 56.7 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 13.3 g
  • Protein: 14.5 g

 Copyright © 2014 Genki Kitty – All Rights Reserved
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

