Tags

, , , , , ,

Image of Vegan Mexican Inspired Pasta Salad Recipe

Barbeques are one of my favorite summer pastimes but one of things I dislike about them is the pasta salads. Pasta Salads are always available at American BBQ’s. In Japan, a type of American inspired version of potato salad is used but I not believe I ever saw pasta salad. If I am not wrong, I believe this is the same for other countries I have traveled to for vacations. My grandmother from Germany used to make a very thick potato salad- not sure if it was German or American though. Anyone see potato salads in other countries?

Mostly in my area growing up there was just one type of pasta salad at just about every BBQ. It contained a dressing of mayonnaise (such as my grandmothers’ potato salad) and/or Miracle Whip. Miracle Whip I believe became popular in my area thanks to the Amish communities making large batches and selling it in stores for reasonable prices. Now I tend to see a lot of pasta salads whipped up with a vinaigrette dressing, although the previous is still widely available. Either way, I have never been a huge fan but strangely enough I have wanted to test it out with vegan mayonnaise to see if it made a difference. Result: yes, yes it is much, much better! Maybe my taste buds have changed or it’s the vegan mayo but the below recipe is delicious!

Serves 4-6

12-16oz cooked pasta
½-1 c vegan approved mayonnaise (we used Just Mayo!)
4 tsp garlic powder
4 tsp onion powder
1 tsp celery salt, optional
1 c bell pepper, diced
½ onion, diced
1 c cooked black beans
½ c celery, diced
½ c cucumber, diced
½ – 1 c tomatoes, coarsely chopped
½ – 1 c cilantro, coarsely chopped
Salt and pepper, to taste
 
Mix all of these ingredients together in a large bowl. Yep, it’s that simple!
 

Note: It’s a fact miracle whip and most mayonnaise brands do not need to be refrigerated. My roommate in college studied food biology (or whatever the degree was called) and her instructor taught them and showed through a research study that it does not go bad. Hence, pasta salad made with them will last a long time out in the sunshine and not go bad, even if they look browned. I’m not sure vegan mayonnaise can handle the heat- but I’m not sure.

