Tags

, , , ,

Image Vegan Pumpkin Spice Scones Recipe

Pumpkin is always on the menu in our household during this time of year, we can not get enough of it while it lasts. Seasonal produce is always though, so I’m sure it’s not a surprise to anyone of you. Studies have found if a person eats with the season, illness will stay away. Not sure if this works with viruses but I know Genki Husband and I rarely get sick. (Recipe Information Below)

Now I know a lot of people have different seasonal menu items out there on the market right now but for me I know there is a season change when visiting the farmers’ market. One major indicator is Starbucks, the franchise really seems to spring to action when a season is about to change soon. The last few years I have noticed there is a pumpkin spice scone available, which I would love to test out. Unfortunately it is not vegan and contains nutmeg (which I’m allergic).

So I did what everyone else seems to be doing, going towards a copycat recipe. Sorry Starbucks, if you would make them vegan and without nutmeg, we would buy them from you. But at last they do not so we went ahead and found this recipe from DamnDelicious.Net. And yes, I had to veganize it. Since I did not bake the exact original I will tell you how I veganized it and what other changes I made to the original that worked out for me. It turned out to be delicious and we would definitely make this again.

My Substitutions:
  • 1/2 c non-dairy butter (I used Earth Balance Vegan Butter)
  • 3 tbsp non-dairy milk (I used Silk Cashew Milk)
  • 1 tsp ground flaxseeds
  • Omitted Nutmeg
  • Doubled the Cinnamon
For the glaze:
  • 1 tbsp non-dairy milk (I used Silk Cashew Milk)
For the spiced glaze:
  • Omitted all nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp non-dairy milk (I used Silk Cashew Milk)

The final outcome, delicious!!! We would make these again but maybe with just the spiced glaze instead of both. Our scone frosting did come out a bit running so I would use the measurements above to assure you have the right consistency. But then again we did frost them right out of the oven since we were impatient so that could be part of the problem too but who wants to eat cold scones?

