Tags

, , , , , , ,

We’re back!  In Michigan that is and we are out there testing Vegan restaurant options and enjoying the fall foliage.  Autumn is in direct competition with spring here in Michigan, if only it were warmer this time of year.  Thankfully, I found a treasure chest in all places Portage, Michigan.  Portage is an average sized town but in the area, it is the metropolis of all the others.  By this I mean there is a mall and more than a handful of stores.

Inside – the tea options. Sorry for the blurriness, I think my lens was dirty.

Seeing as it was cold, I wanted to have a fresh cup of tea but unfortunately Teavana was not open.  (It’s only available in the mall which does not open until around 10am! Yikes!)  So we followed a tip of a giant green tea cup sitting outside a little cafe in a cozy strip-mall.   (We checked, there’s no tea or coffee inside.)  Thankfully it was an great find that not only served hundreds of loose-leaf teas but also desserts.  It was a true tea house, in Michigan!  Gasp!  I’m still excited about this recent find as you can tell.
Chocolatea is a locally owned, family run “mom and pop’ business.  It serves loose leaf teas that can be enjoyed in-store by the cup or tea pot (first time I’ve ever seen this option available in Michigan).  I’d like to compare the tea-house to teavana seeing as the tea is all natural, loose-leaf and setup for tea lovers at heart.  You can also purchase made hot/cold tea to go and/or purchase tea to take home per 1 oz (which by the way is about 1/3 the price of Teavana).  Their website suggests there are at least 200+ teas available, I didn’t count them so I will take their word on that one. If tea isn’t your thing, they also serve bubble tea and I believe there was also a few coffee selections (but I was so excited about the tea options I forget if they had coffee).

Cuddle time is so much more special with seasonal tea and a cute pup.

Going beyond tea, I did notice there is also Yerba Mate in various flavors.  To add an extra for vegans and chocolate lovers, there are also a few options for locally made vegan chocolates!!!!  Yes, you read that right, vegan artisan chocolates!  There are also sandwiches and such but unfortunately none for vegans.  I’ll ignore that part since the owners are really trying to spread the health benefits and converting Michiganders to drinking tea which I applaud.

Inside, I’m assuming before all the seasonal gifts are setup. Stock photo but now the cafe is much more full of gifts.

As you can see, Chocolatea is like a dream come true and a great grasp into the future for tea and health lovers.  It has options for online purchases too so please check out their website for more information on everything they offer.

Al fresco sitting is available but I’d suggest the warm confines of the cafe as it’s getting cooler outside. Stock photo.

Chocolatea

7642 S Westnedge Ave, Portage, MI 49002 (Inside Portage Plaza)

(269) 903-2447

m-f: 6:30am-9pm; sat: 8am-9pm; Sun: 9am-7pm

Of course, it wouldn’t be a blog entry in Michigan without a sunset photo. It’s been cloudy here lately but there is a slight shimmer of color to enjoy at night.

