Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Heirloom Pear Tomatoes

Genki husband and I have been flying back and forth between California these last two months so it has been difficult to get in all the recipes I have used since we have had quite the repetitive menu as of late.  Thankfully we have taken into account the seasonal produce and have delighted in eating homemade meals with the addition of pumpkin, squash, kale, and apples.  What could go wrong with these produce items?  Below are a few things we enjoyed along with the links to the recipes so you can make it at home too.  Enjoy!

Squash Mash with Sautéed Mushrooms and Veggies Recipe- this recipe is super easy and inexpensive this time of year. You can use just about any squash or pumpkin and this comes out. I’ve never tried it but you could also make this with potatoes or even sweet potatoes and still enjoy the fall flavor.

Roasted Autumn Vegetables over Polenta. This contained fall vegetables such as radish, swiss chard, celery root, parsnip, carrots and so on.

Eggless Salad Recipe: Something I have been making a lot lately! I made it a bit different this time around though seeing as I was being lazy. I used only spices and diced yellow bell pepper instead of onions and celery. It turned out just as good but easier to put together. I believe this would be very easy for college students to put together in a dorm room.  To make:  I used 2 tsp onion powder instead of onions, I added 2tsp garlic powder and a sprinkle of celery root.  Then I omitted the turmeric.

Blueberry Scones that are made with real blueberries but can be made with frozen throughout the year. Any fruit would work just fine, just pay attention to the moisture level to assure there isn’t too much.  I believe I added 1 cup of blueberries, fresh.

PPK waffles from her main website, recipe is free to anyone. We use this recipe all the time right now, it never fails. You can add just about any ingredient and it still works.

Apple Cider Waffles made from UN-pasterized cider from our local farmers market. It’s worth the search to find a farmer that sells UN-pasterized – the taste is unlike any other cider on the market. These waffles were okay but they didn’t have the strong apple cider flavor that we hoped it would contain. I did have to veganize this recipe but it’s not hard. Substitions I made:  1 tsp ground flaxseeds instead of egg and I omitted nutmeg (since I’m allergic).

Whole Wheat Apple Cider Apple Pancakes. We had hoped the apple cider would pop with this recipe but for some reason the cider flavor just drops out of the game when making it with breakfast items. Suggestions? Normally we don’t use it in cooking since it doesn’t make it long enough in our fridge.  To make this I took our normal whole wheat pancake recipe (we didn’t have white flour, oops) and substituted apple cider for the non-dairy milk.  Additionally I added 2 tsp pumpkin spice mixture (minus the nutmeg).

Wherever and whenever I cook, this is what I see… it’s mischief in the making. Love our furry babies, they are so adorable! (pardon the mess on the table it is not ours…)

What would a blog be without food and a nice photo of the sunset. This is what it looks like in the Autumn here. It’s not as colorful as the other seasons but that’s because the trees are turning all shades of the rainbow and taking over the spotlight.

 

