Tags

, , , , , , ,

Promises are very special to me, so when I say I’m going to do something I normally will complete the promise.  So many of you have probably been waiting for this recipe since I mentioned it a few hours ago and I didn’t want to either a) forget or b) wait much longer.  Because seriously, when you have tons of zucchini what’s better than making zucchini bread?  Right?!  Mmmm  This recipe was from NPR and turned out a bit darker than I expected but it was perfectly done on the inside.  It was simple to put together as most zucchini breads are and tasted great!  I highly recommend it to anyone.  Continuing my quest to pass along my blog love- simply click HERE for the Original Recipe.  Or if you want a vegan version look below and see how I made some slight changes to the original.

Makes 2 loaves, about 12 slices each
 
3 ½ c all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 ½ tsp ground cinnamon
¼ tsp ground cloves
2 ¼ c coarsely grated, unpeeled zucchini
1 c sugar
2-4 tsp ground flaxseed (I used 3 tsp but you can chose)
½ c vegetable oil (or ½ c applesauce; or 1 mashed banana)
2 tsp grated orange zest
1 c coarsely chopped toasted walnuts or pecans, optional
 
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two 8 1/2-inch loaf pans.
Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and cloves into a bowl, and set aside.
Combine the zucchini, sugar, oil and orange zest in a large bowl, and mix by hand until evenly blended.
Add the sifted dry ingredients to the zucchini mixture. Stir by hand just until the batter is evenly moistened and blended. Fold in the nuts. Divide the batter between the prepared loaf pans.
Bake until the edges are browned and starting to pull away from the pan, and the bread springs back when lightly pressed with your fingertip, about 55 minutes. Remove the loaves from the pans and let cool on wire racks before serving.
 

*Note: I do not use nutmeg in my bread since I’m allergic – you can add it back in if you would like to use it. Additionally, I omit nuts in my banana bread since Genki Husband doesn’t like them. So, it’s all up to your house preference.

