Tags

, , , , , , , ,

On Tuesday I posted a photo of the Double Chocolate Chip Muffins I veganized to make for my in-laws and Genki Husband on Sunday morning before church.  Although very simple to toss together in the early morning, everyone raved over them for the entire two days they were in the household.  Genki Husband and I shared these on Sunday morning as a breakfast and shared one other for a snack the next day and my in-laws ate the rest.  So funny since my in-laws think vegan food is bizarre and unnatural (you, know, that hippie food).  Well, I guess hippie food was in because I found my father-in-law hiding them and sneaking around the house to eat them without us noticing. ha-ha  My mother-in-law fell in love with the recipe and wants me to make it again already.  One can have a sugary item as long as it is moderated.  These muffins were the perfect baked goodie.

As you probably already guessed, the original recipe came from my beloved Pinterest website.  The pin came from a blogger I adore and ‘stalk’, Averie Cooks, and the original recipe came from Naomi at Bakers Royale.  Originally it was not vegan however I did convert it so that all of you vegans out there can enjoy it too.  It’s worth it!

Makes 12 deliciously moist muffins

  • 1 1/2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder
  • 3/4 c vegan sugar
  • 1 c semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 c almond milk (for super rich use coconut milk full fat)
  • 1/3 c vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp flaxseed, ground
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat Oven to 350F/180C

2.  In a large bowl, mix all dry ingredients together.

3.  Made an indention in the dry mixture and add all the wet ingredients.  Mix everything together well.

3.  Pour batter into lined or oil sprayed muffin pan and place into the oven.  You can sprinkle a few vegan chocolate chips on top or add some sprinkles for something fun if desired.  The chocolate chips hold form.

4.  Bake 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick stuck into the batter comes out clean.

