Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Morning Walk with Genki Husband and Genki Pup

Domestic day is the only way I guess I could explain the day today.  Genki Husband and I started out the day with a nice, brisk spring morning walk with Genki Pup just after breakfast.  Sometimes taking a morning walk before or after breakfast is the best method to wake up in the morning.  It’s true, I’m an obnoxiously chipper morning person but Genki Husband and Pup do have issues occasionally.  So today was the day I had Mother Nature wake them up.  The rest of the day was rather cloudy but the sun was powerful enough to warm up the air so we could go out and finish the lawn from yesterday.  Exciting, I know.  Oh the domestic lifestyle, ha-ha.  Unfortunately we did not get to run since we were busy pushing the lawn mower around again.  Win some you lose some – hopefully we will have time tomorrow if we aren’t doing some things for the in-laws.  (I miss running everyday…sigh)  Finally we also got to the grocery store for some much needed groceries – we’ve been so busy doing things for the in-laws we haven’t had the chance to go.  It was necessary seeing as we ate ramen for one meal and PB&J the next. ha-ha So here is everything in a nutshell in photos:

Vegan Chocolate Chip Scones as a Starbucks Copycat recipe. Recipe coming soon.

This is my scone with a few strawberries and raspberries which are in season in California and Florida.  Thankfully my mother-in-law had already done her grocery shopping so we got a few pieces of fruit from her to eat.

Grocery Haul for us two: We went to Meijer’s and Aldi’s Grocery Stores. Note: Go Veggie now has a vegan version of the dairy-free cheese. The other types have casein which is not vegan.

Live G Free crackers – These are available for less than $1.50 for 4 servings at Aldi’s. Thankfully these are accidentally vegan.  There is another rosemary flavored blend but were not vegan.

A closeup of the crackers – which we ate right when we returned home from grocery shopping. They were extremely tasty and I have to admit we ate the entire bag today (4 servings per bag). They are a brown rice cracker with sesame seeds, flaxseeds, quinoa and millet I think the bag said. We will buy again!

Last minute lunch when there’s nothing in the household. This is a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on two slices of Ezekiel bread. (Sorry it looks like I really hurt the poor sandwich but my mother-in-law doesn’t like sharp knives in the house.)

Iced Coffee for a nice snack in the afternoon. I used cold coffee, Unsweetened Almond Milk, ice and 1 tsp of sugar. Nothing that exciting but it does the job right.  We also ate an apple which I forgot to take a photo.

Furry babies sitting together on my in-laws sofa while sunbathing. We are thrilled they love each other so much even though they are two different animals – shows humans should be able to do it also. (Humanity)

Vegan Dinner: Tofu Seviche from my subscription to Fitness Magazine.  Thankfully this recipe is available online for free. I really loved this 3/4 raw vegan dish since it had all the flavor of taste but Genki Husband wasn’t sure what to think of the pineapple.  He asked not to have it again which says something.  I think I will keep the recipe though for myself on days he will be gone for work so I can enjoy it.  The recipes states to serve with tortilla chips but I placed a serving on top of organic mixed greens and made a full salad out of it.  It was light, fruity and I think perfect for a hot summer day.

Finally at night we sat on the screened in porch and watched the sun set for the evening while chatting and reading. It’s nice to have such beauty so late at night, it really calms the mind for a night’s rest.

Anyone else tried out Aldi’s before and loved something? It’s a new store to us since we don’t have it down south where we live.  If so, leave your favorite items in the comment section, I would love to know.

