Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Genki Kitty Presents: new training plans! (Free)

Lately I have been thinking about how I can serve all of you a little bit better – besides sharing my love of healthy food recipes and daily “what I ate” blog posts. Then it hit me, why not start sharing some of my own workouts that many of you might enjoy trying at home. A healthy lifestyle starts one day at a time. No gym required, just motivation. After losing a lot of weight through healthy eating (not starvation) and exercise I have been able to not only get the extra poundage off but keep it off for about 3 years now. During this weight loss time I did not have a gym membership- that wasn’t until just a year or so ago. My plan? Well, it’s simple, eat healthy food and make sure to keep moving for at least 30-60 minutes a day, 7 days a week.

Seeing as our gym is over 500 miles away from our current location it is necessary we workout without gym equipment. We talked about getting a gym membership up here for our vacation but then decided against it. There is a gym here but it is sponsored by the hospital or something of the sort so the prices were more than we wanted to foot while on vacation. So we are working out indoors on rainy, cold days and running & kayaking outside whenever weather permits. It’s all positive though seeing as many people get hooked on gyms and find failure when their membership is unavailable (even for short periods). Truth be told, I am a gym bunny at heart but that’s mainly due to the fact I love being with others in the middle of the day since I work from a home office. Anyone else out there work from home? So, I decided I would keep to an indoor workout for this first installment of “Genki Workouts”.

So today I want to introduce maybe not a new workout style but one that many of you probably have not heard of before since it’s not as popular, just yet. Hence, today’s free online workouts showcase Tabata Training, a concept on how to get fitness in just a few minutes at a time. I can just see a lot of you closing the shades of your office for 4 minutes and getting your Tabata Training on daily. Tabata training is a type of HIIT that works on an intensive movement for 20 seconds followed by 10 seconds rest. It doesn’t sound like much but after the first few minutes of doing this routine your heartbeat will increase and you’ll feel it. This timed training is repeated 8 times in total which equals 4 minutes. Many trainers recommend a Tabata Set (8x workout) to be completed in 4 sets. So a full Tabata Training would mean a 20 minute workout for the day. Who doesn’t have time for that?

Otherwise known as Bodyweight Exercises, you will notice that Tabata Training is all about moving the body and using your own weight for building muscle and losing fat. It’s a workout that is so fast you can do at home in your free time when everyone is away from home. Let’s face it, when starting out we are all shy in front of others. So no excuses anymore!

Plan: Do this training program at least once a day for an entire week! Try it at least 5 days this week and let me know how much better you feel!

*Note:  If you would like to see more of these free workout plans, hit the “like” button of email me.

 

 

