Tags

, , , , ,

It has occurred to me that I have been a day off the entire last week.  How did this happen?  Vacation brain…  So I am writing Saturday’s meals yet again only this is the real Saturday.  Hopefully from here on out I will be able to keep track of the real date – no promises though.  Today we were still watching my grandmother so it was a full-time job watching her, working on my own job online, doing classwork online and also making two separate dishes each meal.  It’s been a task to say the least, I am not sure how those that work in home healthcare does it but they have an amazing skill that I’m afraid I lack.  At least now I know that is not something I can do in the nearest future for my sanity.  Does that sound bad?  (Hopefully not)

Today we did get out for a run but didn’t even last a mile seeing as it was really cold outside.  The temperatures are getting a bit higher but unfortunately the wind has been strong, especially when running around in the country near corn fields with nothing to block the wind.  So we had to turn around and go back to my parents house seeing as it was hard to breath with the cold wind tearing up our windpipes.  It’s okay though since we were very busy doing things around the house such as laundry, cleaning, and taking care of my grandmother which is harder than it sounds.  How do little old ladies take so much work?  I did however learn a very important lesson, vegans do not make good ham sandwiches.  Ha-ha  This is what I was told at least.  I’m working through the pain that this brings to me though. LOL  Apparently I do make a good pork roast though so I guess it evens out.  So on to the real food today.

Vegan Breakfast today: oatmeal with a little brown sugar, Silk Strawberry Yoghurt, OJ and coffee. At least I ate something a bit different today. haha

Herb Vegetable rice dish with a salad with mixed organic greens, radishes, a tomato and homemade vegan ranch dressing. The rice contained some cooked mixed vegetables, freshly chopped dill & Parsley and a tiny drizzle of soy sauce. It was really delicious but unfortunately the dill was a bit overpowering.

Baking for my elderly grandmother as I watched her for a few days. I took a regular vanilla cake box (dairy free) and substituted 1 banana for the 3 eggs. Then I used regular vegan approved frosting. Worked out great! My carnivore eating grandmother that is very picky didn’t even notice!  I made these for my grandmother’s snack and assured my husband we could eat them too since they were vegan.

Teavana tea of the day: Rose Hip Tea I think it is called… So delicious! It was a fruit blend but it was delicious and caffeine free.  I would recommend this to anyone.  This was from my mother’s teavana stash so I will have to double check on the name again when I am over there in a few days again.  Notice the Japanese tea bag – it’s one that comes empty and you fill with your own loose-leaf tea.  Strange at first but works wonders and no leftover dishes to wash like the Teavana tea makers.

Rotini Pasta with Tomato Sauce and homemade garlic bread with a large salad for dinner. The salad is organic mixed greens with homemade ranch dressing and salsa. It is like a taco salad! Yum!  Note:  Tomato sauce is usually vegan if you stick to simple jars such as mushroom, garlic or vegetable.  It is not great to eat it all the time but if you are busy and do not have the time to make your own, it is a great option!

Dessert (Snack):  Another cookie (okay, 2 of them, from yesterday!  So delicious!

 

