Tags

, , , , ,

Full life circle around, Genki Husband and I are watching my grandmother as my parents are away for spring break vacation. She just turned 81 years old a few weeks ago and suffers from a very early-stage of dementia so she has to have constant supervision just in case she gets confused. It’s been almost ten-years since I have lived in this house or in Michigan in-fact so it’s always a bit strange coming back, even for a visit. The whole situation is familiar but awkward all at the same time. Any have this experience or is it just me?

So on to the food. My grandmother eats a very traditional standard American diet (S.A.D) so I have to make meals specifically for her. It was really hard making her food that I considered unhealthy and inhumane but at last I did it. Normally I do not judge what others eat however when I have to make it, it is a different story. ha-ha Since I wish I could have shared my delicious vegan meals with my grandmother instead of the meat & carbohydrate heavy (and the vegetables I slip on her plate) dishes she so desires, I will just imagine she ate the healthier options along with us and I’ll only post what we ate.  Today was a bit strange since we traveled between houses and were getting my grandmothers’ schedule down. So here’s what we ate:

Ezekiel Toast (contains no flour) and a Silk Non-dairy Vegan Blueberry Yogurt with coffee on the side. I know, I ate it yet again. haha

Nothing better than peanut butter with a freshly cut apple.

Fresh organic mixed greens with homemade vegan ranch dressing and salsa. Side bowl of PPK Dilly Stew with Rosemary Dumplings.  This stew is very tasty and lasts forever!  Check out my previous days, we have had a lot of servings already.

Homemade Vegan Cinnamon Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies. So easy to make and so delicious to eat! Mmmm

Teavana Tea of the day: Almond Berry Amaretto. Very fruity for a tea but nice for a day when you want something warm but maybe not a strong tea. If you add a little sugar it is a nice sweet treat.

Dinner:  As it was a very busy evening with switching houses and watching my elderly grandmother, we did not get to take a photo of our dinner.  But we had organic mixed greens with salsa on top and plain vegan ramen.

Snack:  Homemade Cinnamon Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (see photo above)

Exercise:  It was rainy again so we didn’t manage to get outside and run.  We are rather missing our gym now that we can’t get there due to being up in Michigan at the moment.  But when you don’t have a gym, it’s time to start doing some home workouts.  I’ll be posting them soon.  For now, we are running around doing millions of errands for my grandmother.

Our lake house view in Michigan. Spring is coming, the lake keeps trying to melt but then it gets cold at night. Rainy day.  Yes, it is daytime.  It’s pretty though isn’t it?  It’s like a mythical movie – no lockness monster just yet- I have been looking.  LOL

This is the same view a few hours later in the day – the temperature went a bit higher so fog happened.

 

 

