Tags

, , , , ,

Ranch dressing was the main attraction in our school cafeteria when I was younger, it had to go on everything.  When I say everything, I mean on top of fries, popcorn, pizza and of course the required drenching of any vegetable in sight.  Yes it was quite a different time in my life but my heart still beholds a certain placement for ranch dressing.  It is not a healthy dressing of any sort, unless you are considering the dairy that it contains from the buttermilk used in the traditional recipe.

Where did ranch come from?  Even though I adored this salad topper, I had no idea where it originated from or why it even started.  So I did what every person does and researched the internet for the answer.  Finally I came to the answer on Slate.com.  Apparently it was created as a local delicacy by “Steve and Gayle Henson, a couple who’d opened a dude ranch near Santa Barbara, Calif., in 1954.”  Guess ranch received its namesake from the dude ranch (otherwise known as Hidden Valley Ranch) it was born upon.  Then it was purchased from the Clorox Company all of places who transformed it into a processed #1 seller in America.  Hence a lot of you reading this will probably have an old addiction to ranch too. If you are one of these people, please feel free to dive into the recipe and enjoy your old childhood favorite salad dressing down below that has been converted vegan.

Serves 8-10

1/2-1 tsp vinegar
1 tsp marjoram
1 cup vegan mayonnaise
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp dill
2 tsp chopped parsley
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 cup unsweetened nondairy milk (I used unsweetened coconut milk)

Blend it all together or vigorously mix with a spoon. 

*This stores fine for a few weeks if you can keep it in the fridge for that long.

