Tags

, , , ,

Pumpkins are here!!!    Fall season in the Northern Hemisphere is full of fallen leaves, warming soups and my favorite, pumpkins.  Eating by the seasons can bring forth the most colorful meals that nourish the body for the specific weather pattern.  That’s why I overdo it on the pumpkin, at least that’s my excuse for now. So I have been saving this Egyptian Pumpkin Pie recipe for 6 months or so just for the fall season.

The recipe was super easy to put together- it’s basically just tossing ingredients in a glass baking dish.  Although I would never stop making traditional American pumpkin pie, this was a nice change up.  It was a special treat after raking leaves the entire afternoon.  Unfamiliar to the traditional pumpkin pie, this ‘pie’ is free from the calorie-dense crust and rather savory instead of sweet.  Don’t worry though, it contains enough sweetness to cover the sugar lover in your family.

This is a comfort food that hails from the Middle East, via its carrier by the name of Nada (pronounced Ne-da), is called Kar’ Assaly in Arabic.  Nada says she blogs “to chronicle my ongoing journey to health and share my passion for healthy, vegan Middle Eastern food with others’.  Sounds familiar right?  (Well I do more Asian but still.)  Her site, One Arab Vegan, has amazing recipes that come out each and every time.  Each time you make her recipes, you can feel the love of her native island, The Kingdom of Bahrain.  She has a deep passion for her country and takes its traditional food to the next level by creating it healthy and vegan (something that is not common).  I highly recommend you heading on over to her site after you test out this recipe.  You’ll be overjoyed and blessed to learn more about the Arabic culture (and will bring back memories if you are from the Middle East).

We loved this simple recipe that doesn’t take much time at all.  We did do a few changeups on the ingredients since we didn’t have everything in stock.  I used maple syrup instead of agave syrup, no hazelnuts, and canned pumpkin instead of fresh.  Since I didn’t make the recipe quite as written, it was a bit less than sweet so we found ourselves pouring a little more maple syrup on top just to add a bit more sweetness since it was our dessert.  Agave is much sweeter so I doubled the amount in the original recipe but I’m guessing one really does need the ever powerful agave to make it just right.  Other than that, we did everything according to the instructions with the original recipe.

 

