Tags

, , , ,

Peanut Butter is something I never appreciated when young but for whatever reason, I love it.  But, I believe I’ve gone through it before so I won’t bore you again with the details.  My love for peanut butter didn’t come into an addiction until around the time I found Trader Joe’s Peanut Butter Pretzels.  Have you tried these?  Seriously you can’t just eat one as the old potato chip commercial used to state.  And by one, I mean one bag!  Things couldn’t have gotten any better (besides me waistline), that is until I found Peanut Butter Crackers.  Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I have no ruined your waistline too…

My first peanut butter cracker experience was when I was young and didn’t enjoy peanut butter.  Plus the crackers were six to a pack (still sold today) and really didn’t taste like anything but oil and sugar.  Not very satisfying and contained a lot of calories.  I’m not sure if the taste and calorie count has been changed up but the memory can’t be erased.  But there is something about tiny foods that really entice me to buy it, it always happens.  Does anyone else have this issue?

My first tiny cracker experience was the Trader Joe’s brand.  But the entire box was gone after a few days.  Hence, I went searching through our local stores and finally found one store that carried an organic brand that was also vegan.  The only one available is by Late July Organic.

As far as ingredients, both brands use basic, pronounceable ingredients that most mothers wouldn’t mind feeding their children.  At least I didn’t freak out when my furry baby got one after being dropped- that’s saying a lot since I don’t feed her anything but raw vegan ingredients or her specialty pup food.  There is sugar in both brands though so I’d advise to moderate if possibly.

There’s really only $1 USD between the two in our area (Late July is more) so taste is the most important thing, right?  Well, there is a big difference for my taste-buds.  We actually found this to be true with the Peanut Butter pretzels too – no one competes with Trader Joe’s and their peanut butter filling.  There’s just something about it that doesn’t compare to other brands, we actually do party taste testing.  No one said we were sane, addicted to food, yes, but not sane, oh no, no, no…  But yeah, the Trader Joe’s peanut butter is creamier and probably more sugary.  There’s nothing wrong with the Late July taste but it just doesn’t compete with the sweet and salty combination flavor of the TJ’s brand.

Finally the appearances of the crackers were pretty much the same.  The Late July box does have a few more ounces per box, unfortunately most were broken and/ not put together correctly.  It was probably just our box but we did notice since we were doing some serious taste-testing for all of you.

Our final not-so-professional taste-testing outcome – Trader Joe’s Peanut Butter crackers win by a landslide.

