Tags

, , , , ,

Yep you read that correct, it’s a whole peanut butter lovers’ dream come true.  Let the ‘PB gang’ rejoice!  *Happy Dance!* It’s funny to say I am a legit member of PB lovers, since when I was a child I hated peanut butter.  My sister took (probably still is today) peanut butter sandwiches every day to school.  No jam, butter, banana or anything to go along inside the bread – just PB.  We call her our ‘plain Jane’.  As a child I would rather have a sandwich such as this one instead: English muffin, tomato, and some mayo (now veganaise).   Now as an adult, I can’t get enough of the stuff!  It’s strange how that happens isn’t it?

We bought the coconut peanut butter made by Earth Balance.  It took a while to get down where we live, so I know I’m a bit behind the times in testing this new product out.  At first we weren’t sure what to think of the flavor, it really is a little coconutty and a bit of peanut buttery.  In the end, we decided for the price we would probably stick to traditional plain peanut butter but would definitely purchase if it went down in price.  Basically what the company did was make the peanut butter with coconut oil instead of natural oils alone.  It’s a great idea and I’m sure the overall price matches the used ingredients but for us we eat so much of it, it’s hard to gulp the few extra US$ per jar.  If you consume less than our family, definitely go out and purchase a jar – it’s delicious!

So, we decided we loved the coconut flavor but it didn’t match with the sandwich concept we had in mind.  Hence, I went ahead one cooler summer morning to make a batch of Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World: Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Peanut Buttercream Frosting.  Yum!!!!  Genki Husband had been working some longer hours than normal so I thought what would any adult want more than some delicious cupcakes as a little afternoon treat to go the unusual 13 hour shifts (normally 9).  It’s my little way to express my love for Genki Husband and to those that work hard hours to get the job done.  Hard work should never be underestimated or unappreciated in my opinion, no matter what the career.

Molasses is in the cupcakes, and if you remember correctly, it is high in iron which provides the human body with energy! Additionally it does not contain a high amount of sugar, which tends to spike the blood sugar in the body for a few hours at most but then plummet later leaving the body dragging.  Since they were working long hours I wanted to give them protein, not so much sugar.  But let’s face it, there has to be sugar to entice overworked eyes, so I chose the Peanut Buttercream frosting since it provided more protein but also a sweet after-taste that a dessert should contain in my opinion.  I have used the chocolate ganache that was intended for the original recipe but (even though my sister is probably gasping for air), I chose a less ‘melty’ option.

As far as veering too far from the original recipe, I stuck as written as much as possible.  We do not use shortening, so I used vegan butter in the buttercream frosting and brown rice syrup instead of barley malt syrup.  Seeing as the cupcakes were gone in a few minutes, I do not believe anyone had a complaint about the original recipe as written.  It was not only simple to put together but the frosting kept its shape on the perfectly formed cupcakes.  Easy peasy!  I’d highly suggest these two recipes together or separately as both turned out just as expected – perfectly!  The taste was rich but not overly sweet and did hold a high protein content thanks to my favorite, peanut butter.

Original Peanut Butter Cupcake Recipe Free Online, thanks to iVillage

Not Same But Very Similar Frosting Recipe, thanks to NotCrocker (couldn’t find original online, sorry)

Another Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World Recipe (Video)

♥♥♥Leave a comment with the item you now love as an adult but hated as a kid, I’d love to know!♥♥♥

