Tags

, , , ,

Virginia weather is a bit confusing, it’s cold then hot then cold again.  For this reason I have been dividing my menus between the two seasons, hot meal one day and cold the next.  One entrée I used to make all the time when non-vegan was fajitas.  I love fajita night so much I even have a dance for it, I’ll spare you that image though.  Thankfully Trader Joe’s, Gardein and some other smaller companies are now producing mock “chicken” strips which are pretty satisfying in carnivore recipes.

Fajitas are a great ‘any weather’ type of meal and there’s no true collection of ingredients that must be used.  Here’s what I decided to put into our fajitas:

1 recipe homemade Guacamole:  We also use this recipe.
1 small onion, sliced
1 small pepper, sliced
1 pkg mock “chicken” strips (any brand un-seasoned)
4 servings rice, cooked (I cook mine with hijiki)
1 recipe homemade salsa (onion, garlic, tomatoes & lime juice)
1-2 tsp Cajun seasoning
4 tortillas
 
1.  Heat a frying pan on high with a little spray oil.
2.  Sauté onion, pepper and mock chicken strips until golden brown.
3.  In the last 2 minutes, sprinkle the Cajun seasoning over the mock “chicken” mixture.  Mix well.
4.  Remove from heat and top all four tortillas.
5.  Divide all the ingredients among the four servings.  Enjoy!

                Before Mixing- this is how I prep it the night before for my bento.

After the two containers are mixed.  Ta-Dah!

Alternative Idea:  Normally I tend to make 4 servings even though there are only two of us in the household.  Then, the next day, Genki Husband and I have a well-rounded lunch without too much effort.  For my lunch serving, I wanted to have a fajita salad instead of a wrap.  Everything was tossed together in two glass containers and I mixed them together during lunch time.  It was perfect!  I would suggest not putting the salsa and guacamole on the rice the night but rather in two different containers.  Rice mush the next day never makes a happy lunchtime.

