Tags

, , , , ,

Here’s another recipe that I have been saving from my magazine subscription to Vegetarian Times Magazine, April/May 2012.  My husband used to love Biscuits and Gravy when he was younger but the main ingredients are rather unhealthy and also animal derived.  Although I do already make another type of Biscuits and Gravy, I fell in love with the idea of using chickpeas in the place of sausage crumbles.  Anything that makes a recipe healthier is always something to test out in my kitchen.

This recipe did take a bit of time (even after I had soaked and cooked my dry chickpeas).  The original recipe stated it would take 30 minutes or less but I found it was a bit longer than 40 minutes (not including biscuits).  Additionally I didn’t want to have gluten-free biscuits so I made my traditional recipe for my kitchen.  The original sounded nice but had a lot of ingredients and when it comes to biscuits simple is better I think.  The final outcome was a bit strange I have to admit.  Not a bad strange but just different than I expected.  The gravy was a nice golden white color but then when I added the chickpea mixture it turned to a murky gray that wasn’t that appealing to the eyes.  The texture was pretty right on to the classic American recipe but the chickpeas just didn’t make the soft texture as animal derived sausage. In the end, the husband did love the recipe but then asked for me to make it next year (since you can only have it once a year for health purposes) with mock sausage. Sometimes new things just aren’t as perfect as the original.

Here’s the original recipe and my changes:

Serves 8-10 very hungry people
 
2 c cooked chickpeas
2 ½ tsp paprika
2 tbsp poultry seasoning
1 tsp onion powder
½ tsp salt
1 tsp ground black pepper
1 pinch cayenne pepper
1 tbsp vegetable oil
4 tbsp butter
¼ c cornstarch
¼ c non-enriched whole wheat white flour
4 c nondairy milk
1 recipe homemade biscuits of your choice
 
1.  Add the chickpeas, paprika, poultry seasoning, onion powder, salt, pepper, and cayenne in a food processor and pulse (not whirl) 8 times, or until crumbly.
2.  Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat and sauté the chickpea mixture until golden brown and slightly crispy.  Remove for later…
3.  Put the butter in the same skillet and heat over medium-heat until it starts to melt.  Whisk in the starch and flour until it looks crumbly.  Gradually whisk in the non-dairy milk and cook 3-5 minutes, or until sauce is thickened.  Remember to whisk constantly.  Stir in chickpea mixture.  Season with salt and pepper.
