Tags

, , , , ,

Goulash is very dear to my heart thanks to one special couple, my maternal grandparents.  Every winter (and oddly sometimes on a hot summer day) my grandparents would serve us grandchildren homemade goulash.  It wasn’t just any goulash, nope, it was everything in the kitchen goulash.  They were of the traditional farming type that plowed from the land and ate everything from it.  It was a love-love relationship.  Every summer there would be tons of tomatoes so us grandchildren would all get together on a hot day and can tomatoes, pickles, jam and anything else that had flourished that harvest season.  Tomatoes were a specialty though since my grandmother made tomato sauce, plain tomatoes, tomato soup and I believe I even remember tomato jam was once tried.  Then after all the hard work and sweat, we would all sit down together with a nice hot steamy bowl of homemade goulash soup from the leftovers in the kitchen that didn’t make the cut into the preservation jars.

Just like my grandmother, I tend to toss in the same basic ingredients into my goulash soup.  We tend to have tons of tomatoes (since I go crazy at the farmers market and have two plants at home) so we used homemade tomatoes and a jar of tomato sauce because I didn’t want to clean a dirty blender.  (Lazy, I know! LOL)  So, here’s what I used to make my version of hot goulash soup on a hot summer night.

2 yellow onions, chopped
5 garlic cloves, minced
3 potatoes, cubed (don’t peel, the vitamins are in it)
3 tbsp tomato paste
1 (24oz) can marinara (I used Trader Joe’s marinara)
2 cups vegan chicken-free broth (I used Better than Bouillon Organic)
1 batch Homemade Meatless Crumbles, prepare ahead
2 tsp marjoram
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp paprika
2 tsp Penzey’s pasta sprinkle (oregano, basil, parsely)
 
1.  In large pot, saute the onion, garlic and potatoes until golden brown.
2.  Add the tomato paste and stir well into the vegetables.
3.  Add the marinara and vegan broth.  Bring to a boil and keep it there for about ten minutes.  You can simmer it but seriously it tastes the same but takes more time.
4.  Once the potatoes are soft, add the crumbles and dried herbs.
 

Toppings: My mother also makes this but tops hers with crackers and cheese.  My grandmother never liked us having crackers so were without.  I’ve heard others like a dollop of sour cream, yogurt or (like my cousin) ketchup.  Your choice, I won’t come after you. J

