Tags

, , , , , ,

Call me strange but I am probably one of the few people that actually enjoy watching the Food Network while working out.  I’ve had a lot of people giving me the “tisk tisk” while watching cooking shows while working out but that’s really okay with me.  Since moving we have a new gym and I miss watching free cooking channels but thank goodness for the internet on cell phones right?  I’m not sure how I would live without mine (sad I know).  I tend to watch a lot of Giada De Laurentiis since her simple recipes with easy to find ingredients is basically a mimic of my style too.  Minimal effort and fresh ingredients is a great start to any healthy recipe.

So last week I watched Giada’s California Dream Boat Cruise Episode from Giada at Home and just had to make my own vegan version of her Linguine with Avocado and Arugula Pesto recipe.  Rarely can I find arugula in our local stores here in Virginia (or anywhere in the Midwest) so I could not make the recipe completely the same as the original.  Thankfully the final result was smooth, creamy and dare I say luxurious?  The ingredients were very ‘green’ but the final sauce was a perfect blend for the taste buds.  And, if you have time I would highly suggest making your own pasta – it’s worth the extra hour or less.

Serves 4 hungry people
1 pound homemade linguine pasta (or store bought)
2 medium avocados, halved, peeled, and seeded
3 c fresh spinach (6 ounces)
1 packed cup fresh basil leaves
3 tbsp fresh lime juice (from 2 large limes)
4 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed
¼ tsp sea salt
½ tsp freshly ground black pepper
½ c nutritional yeast

½ c tofu ♥♥

1.  Make your pasta.  We used the Vegan Dad Recipe which worked out great but had to add double the amount of flour.
2.  Put the spinach basil, lime juice, garlic, salt, pepper, nutritional yeast, and tofu into a blender and give it a good whirl it until smooth.
3.  Toss the pesto over the pasta fold it in until well coated. Sprinkle with a little more nutritional yeast (optional) and enjoy!

♥♥Sorry for the weird formatting of this recipe, for some reason wordpress isn’t letting me correct it today.  Weird!♥♥

