Tags

, , , , ,

Straight from my laptop recipe fault comes this easy to put together, ‘is it really 8pm already”, and/or can’t be bothered to be in the kitchen in this heat recipe.  Yes even I have these types of days; I know I’m not the only one.  This basic tortilla wrap recipe comes from the Skinny B*tch Cookbook.  A lot of times I buy cookbooks and only like a few of the recipes so I type them up and then give the cookbook away to a non-vegan.  My little trick to trigger a plant-eating revolution; don’t worry though, I tell them it’s slightly used.  I’m totally not one of those re-gifting type of people – I’m too lazy to lie.

Last week was the “I’m too tired too cook in 101F weather” type of mood so I made these since we had just about everything in the kitchen.  I did make changes because I found the recipe didn’t really make the cut for our taste buds –we are foodies so we’re picky, I’m well aware of this fact.  We are definitely going to make this again and again.  Mmmm  Here are my changes…

Makes 3-4 tortillas (can be used as an entrée)

Spray oil for Frying
1 ½ tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp ground coriander
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 (8oz) pkg tempeh, crumbled
4 Medium-sized Trader Joe’s tortillas
½ cup hummus
1 English style cucumber, cut into matchsticks
3 cups mixed organic baby greens

1.  Spray a skillet over medium heat and add in the garlic powder, coriander, and soy sauce. 

2.  Crumble in the tempeh and sauté until browned.

3.  Divide all the ingredients into four equal tortillas and enjoy!

Note:  I found if you place the tempeh crumble on top of the hummus it doesn’t fall out.

Vegan Blogger Love Here’s another take on this recipe that I found after I made ours.  Amazingly she had some good ideas that were slightly different than my variation.  Check it out at Just Dessert Website.

