Tags

, , ,

Something that really bothers me is to have to stop for food for a short shopping trip.  We live in the country, hence, when we travel to go grocery shopping we must either pack a breakfast or pick something up.  Okay, so I guess those would normally be the options… but our choices would be donuts or muffins if we picked something up.  This past weekend I wanted to make something ahead of time that was not only able to travel but tasty too.  Genki Husband loves cinnamon raisin bread and I love to play with my food so I figured why not try a pull-apart bread- best of both worlds.  No idea what pull-apart bread is, like my husband, it’s basically like monkey bread.  If you’ve never had the chance to have monkey bread, well its like layers of bread that you get to pull apart and eat.    It’s finger food! 

The original recipe was from the But Can She Bake website.  It was already vegan (yay!) so I just took the recipe and went with it and didn’t take any liberties.  I know I’m surprised too!  The instructions were a bit much for me though, so I’m adding the details here for easy baking.  Conclusion, I baked mine a bit too long but it was very tasty!  I might suggest adding a bit more brown sugar and less cinnamon but other than that, it was perfect! (Pls forgive the photos below, it was dark and rainy outside…)

Original Recipe Here

1.  In a large mixing bowl, mix all the bread dough ingredients together.  It doesn’t have to be fancy or difficult, nor do you have to warm the non-dairy milk.  You can but there really isn’t any difference in rising time.  Knead it a few times but don’t go crazy since it will toughen the dough.

2.  Cover the dough with a kitchen towel and let it rise for 1 hour.  It should double is size.

3.  In a small bowl, whisk together the brown sugar, cinnamon and applesauce for the filling. Don’t add the extra applesauce, I found it made it much too liquid. 

4.  Spray oil a 9×5×3-inch loaf pan. Set aside.

5.  Once double is size, roll the dough out (I did mine in two batches to make it easier) in a large rectangle as thin as you want.  The thinner the funnier since you can play more with your food.  (Not paper-thin though.)

6.  Spread the entire thing with pre-made filling and sprinkle with raisins (I forgot mine, oops).

7.  Using a knife or pastry cutter, cut the rectangle in strips (doesn’t matter which way).  Layer the strips on top of one another.

8.  Once stacked, cut the strip again making tall squares.  Place this squares into the pan.

9.  Cover with kitchen towel again and let rise double for around 1 hour.

10.  Place in 350 degrees F preheated oven.  Bake for 30 to 45 minutes until tips are deeply golden brown.

11.  Let it rest out of the oven for about 30 minutes before removing from pan. 

 

