Tags

, , , ,

Happy National Running Day Everyone!

Whether you are a runner or not, today is the best day to really take advantage of the weather and get out there and run for whatever reason you can give out.  A few years ago I never would have believed I would be saying this but I love running.  It is not only the best method of exercise to keep my body tune

d up but also a terrific way to just reduce stress caused by anxiety.  Thanks to running I can

now handle anything that comes my way and I feel stronger mentally and physically.  It is my wish that all of you can exercise this wonderful transformation such as mine and why not start today.  It just takes one day of getting out there and you will hooked.  Sure there will be hard days but there are more enjoyable ones to come along that one forgets the bad.  Here are a few links to assist you along the way – even if you are a couch potato.  So get out there, no more excuses!

1.  National Running Day Website (Thanks for the badge guys)

2.  Couch to 5K

3.  Cool Running

4.  Run for God

5.  Running Planet

My personal advice:  As long as you can handle a little exercise (permission from your doctor may be necessary) I suggest you tie up those shoe laces.  If you don’t have professional running shoes, don’t worry because you don’t need them the first day.  When I started I just put on my old, worn-out tennis shoes and started to run (and gasp for air).  Walk for about 5-10 minutes at a nice easy to speak with

a partner pace.  After this warmup, start to run at an easy pace- no record-breaking levels at this point.  Do this for as long as you can handle.  Then walk once again for no more than 5-10 minutes.  Once you have some air in your lungs again, run again.  I highly suggest you trying at least 1 mile in distance (not including your warmup) the first day.  You can do it, a mile seems a long way but remember you are going to be walking it too.  Do this every day and increase your

running time while decreasing your walking time.  You will be amazed at how you feel after just one week of this workout.  Then you always have the bragging rights of the hard work done.

