Tags

, , ,

Pickle juice runs through my blood…  Yep, I’m German and proud of it!  Some of my fondest moments are making pickles with my grandmother in our tiny farm kitchen.  We would pickle many things and my family members and I seriously would fight over Dilly Beans (pickled green beans).  It’s a family recipe that came over from the ole’ country by my grandmother – yum!  Right now in Virginia cucumbers are just coming out from the ground – and being brought fresh from Florida to the farmers markets.  We love baby cucumbers to make these simple 5 minute pickle that can be eaten in just a few hours or a few months.  Yum!  You can also use regular cucumbers but baby ones are best- your choice. Today I used some different ingredients than normal since we didn’t have all the necessary ones on hand nor were they available in the farmers market.

* 4-6 baby cucumber (pickling) cucumbers, evenly sliced
* 2-4 tbsp dry or 8 sprigs fresh dill
* 1 tbsp mustard seed
* 1 tbsp caraway seed
* 1 tbsp whole black peppercorns
* 4 whole cloves
* 2-4 tsp dry diced garlic cloves
* 1 tbsp kosher salt
* ¾ c distilled white vinegar
* ½ c water

1.  Place the cucumber slices in enough jars.  The cucumbers should have a little wiggle room but not too much.  Fill the jars only ¾ fill so there is enough room for the other ingredients.  Note:  We reuse jars and have never had any issues.

2.  Add the rest of the ingredients and place lids tightly on the jars.

3.  Place the jars in the refrigerator and you can start to eat them in two hours or more.

