Molasses has become my go-to condiment this last month after hearing of its high level of iron (or something about helping retain the levels in ones’ body). Sure the dark greens veggies that I devour have a good amount of iron but I love to stock up on it because I feel as though it lowers when I run for some reason. I have bouts of dizziness when I run at times (cold or warm) and supposedly iron should help alleviate this issue. Three cheers for healthy food as medicine! Yay! But yea, the husband loves muffins for breakfast so I tend to make a batch at least once a week and freeze all but a few for the next morning. Then throughout the next week I toaster oven (new verb?) a few for his breakfast which he loves…

Unsulfured Blackstrap Molasses was my inspiration for finding this recipe for the DH muffins of the week. Yum! Strange enough, I pick out the recipes according to my taste buds but I don’t really eat muffins at home. Haha These muffins were from the Anja’s Food 4 Thought website. It really excited me because it contained only ½ cup whole wheat flour and no white flour. The husband said the muffins were good but maybe just a one-time try in our household. He mentioned they were a bit dry – but that didn’t stop him from eating them all in a few days. Haha He has a super sugar tooth in the morning so that’s probably why he didn’t really care to save the recipe (it’s probably just him). If you prefer less sugar in the morning, you will probably love this one. It did smell really good, mmmm.

Veganized Version to Banana Molasses Muffins*
1/2 cup rolled oats
6 tablespoons whole almonds (divided)

1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 cup raisins

1/2 cup mashed ripe bananas (2 medium bananas)
1 tsp ground flaxseeds mixed with 2 tbsp water
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 1/2 tablespoons blackstrap molasses
4 tablespoons plain soy yogurt (We used Trader Joe’s Version)

Yields 12
*Here’s are my changes but if you aren’t vegan go ahead and see the original.

