Tags

, ,

Weight loss can be very confusing for many around the world, I’m no exception.  It’s a confusing process and marketing companies only make it more difficult to understand the “good” from the “bad” advice.  Throw in some bad government given advice and celebrity endorsements and one’s mind will be swirling with conflicting information.  (Aka, One day coffee is good for you and one day it’s not.)  Who’s to trust?

To put it simply, each one of us have been given the tools to fully live a successful, happy, healthy life.  Not only have we been given the top of the food chain powerhouse brains, we also as a human race can run the longest distance of any other animal and we can prepare our own food unlike many other animals.  Hence it’s a shame we as the human race can prepare our own food unlike many other animals but are still the ones overweight. (This excludes the animals that rely on humans for food supplies.)

Now, I’m not a medical professional so I can only replay information I have been taught, studied through books and learnt through my own weight loss journey.  So far to date I’ve lost around 30-50 pounds (range is unknown because my weight scale didn’t work in the beginning unbeknownst to me.)  There have been so many things I’ve tried and found as misguided information.  Something that really brought up some painful memories of this “trial and error” process as a college student occurred the other day when a friend mentioned she was “punishing herself for her wrongdoings over Easter break”.

At the time, I was following what I thought to be a proper diet plan setup by professionals in the industry of nutrition.  I was on a fasting diet of canned shakes for 2 meals, followed by a reasonable dinner at night.  Little did I know at the time but I was do a marketing “fast” plan which may be okay for a day but can really lead to more issues down the road.  I found myself drinking 2 shakes a day (1 for breakfast and 1 for lunch).  Then depending on how much of a workout I did, I would eat something for dinner of around 300 calories or less.  Near the end I found myself using my exercise plan to subtract the daily shake calories from my body and if I didn’t work it off I wouldn’t eat dinner because “I didn’t deserve it”.  Even more down the road I might only drink ½ a shake a meal if I didn’t lose any weight overnight and I would be going to the gym a few times a day while working in some extra workouts at home such as pushups, sit-ups and etc.  It was a large downward spiral of exercise and no eating.  Food wasn’t a necessity to keep going but a reward.

Rewarding ones’ self with food is not a plan of life.  In “Staying Healthy for Nutrition” it states, “obesity is the problem for which fasting is most currently used although its not the best use of this healing technique.  Fasting is not even a good treatment for those overweight; it’s too temporary and may generate feasting reactions in people coming off the fast.  Better would be a change of diet and a longer-term weight-release plan; something that will allow new dietary habits and food choices to replace the old ones.”  (Pg 90) The book also goes on about how a “yo-yo” syndrome such as a fast may actually be more harmful than just remaining overweight.  “A balanced, low-calorie diet with lots of exercise is still the best way to reduce and maintain a good weight and figure.”

So I may not be super thin and I may not have everything figured out but what I do know is a yo-yo method to dieting and treating oneself wrong because you deserve punishment is not an answer.  Thankfully I learned my lesson early enough so I could change my terrible self-punishment methods to dieting.  It still breaks my heart to hear people go down the same path I did, especially people I hold dear to my heart.  I’ve lived through this lifestyle and I would never wish it on anyone.  So if you are one of these people I hope and pray you can talk to someone about your downward spiral of dieting.  You are worth happiness and just because your weight, hair or whatever else didn’t appeal to you today, you’re still worth the basics of happiness, food and water.

http://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org/find-help-support

http://www.nedc.com.au/eating-disorders-in-australia

http://www.helpguide.org/topics/eating_disorders.htm

http://www.something-fishy.org/

http://au.reachout.com/Tough-Times/Somethings-not-right/Eating-disorders

http://eating-disorders.org.uk/

