Tags

, , , , ,

Last week a friend of mine introduced the healthy-eating inspired website Kid Tested Fire Fighter Approved by an adoring mother of two small children and wife to the given website namesake firefighter. After looking through the website, I love that the creator and blogger actually studied in a program I have been contemplating taking at Cornell University, an online program for a healthy lifestyle. It is actually taught by someone I have looked up to, Dr. T. Colin Campbell, author of “The China Study” and newly introduced co-creator of the movie “Forks Over Knives”. I haven’t seen his movie yet however “The China Study” is what really opened my eyes to the world of veganism full-time. So I was really excited to see how this class has taught others how to be incorporate into a full meal.

My eyes caught the “Amazing Kale Salad Topped with Smoky Maple Tempeh Crumbles” recipe photos. You can view the original recipe here. Of course, I did change some things to meet the taste & needs of my family such as less sodium, since my husband’s family has a history of heart issues. Even through my personal preference changes, the recipe became an instant favorite. Nom nom nom (It’s now translator and Engineer approved. LOL)

Salad Ingredients: (You could eat this alone without tempeh!)
4 cups kale, de-stemmed and sliced
½ tsp sea salt (plain)
1 orange, freshly squeezed juice & zest
1 Tbsp coconut balsamic vinegar
½ tsp garlic powder
2 c shredded carrots (thanks food processor attachments)
2 c shredded red cabbage (thanks food processor attachments)
1 medium tomato, chopped
1/2 small onion, minced
½ c green olives, minced them well
1 tbsp sesame seeds, toasted
½ tsp cumin seeds
2-4 tbsp dried cranberries, sliced
1 Tbsp soy sauce

Directions: I followed along with the original salad recipe here.

Tempeh Crumble Ingredients:
1 pkg tempeh (I only used 1 pkg from Trader Joes but wished I had more in stock)
2-4 tsp liquid smoke (same kind as original)

Tempeh Crumbles Directions:
Seeing as I was making this ahead of time, right between a pup walk and a run with the husband I didn’t have time to mess with boiling the tempeh and then baking it. I can’t confirm how that method works out (but I have heard about it from others being okay), rather I used my trusty toaster oven in less than 5 minutes. I placed the tempeh block in a bowl and crumbled it with a fork. Then I added the liquid smoke and gave it a good mix. Then it was tossed on a piece of lightly olive oil sprayed aluminum foil and placed on the “toast” setting for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes I had the most delicious smelling tempeh one could imagine. The husband came home and instantly wanted to know what was for dinner. LOL

*A Special thanks Kid Tested Fire Fighter Approved for this wonderful website that we thoroughly enjoyed and will definitely be making again soon. It was delicious and wholesome. It does take a bit of time to put together but lasted in the fridge without any issues while we went for a run. Yum!

 

