Tags

, , , , ,

Lately I have been super craving vegan hot cocoa but we unfortunately do not have any in our house. We’ve been searching but haven’t found anything local that is vegan. *whimper* I fell in love with a brand that was from Michigan but unfortunately my in-laws only found it at Christmas time and I used it all up before the really cold month of February started – boo… So I have been making my own vegan version at home and although it’s not as appeasing as the Kalamazoo Brewing Company hot cocoa, it does fill the gap in my life. Are you in the same position as me? Well you are in luck because you probably have all the ingredients already in your house. Serves 1

1 c vegan milk (I used Trader Joes’ Unsweetened Almond Milk)
¼ – ½ tsp vanilla extract
1-2 tbsp dark cocoa powder (make sure it’s vegan)
2-4 tsp sugar

1. Warm the vegan milk in the microwave. It takes ours about 1 minute but not sure about yours – it all depends on the brand.
2. Add the rest of the ingredients and whisk like crazy. You can add the ingredients first but it blends better if you add them after the milk is warmed up a bit.
3. Again I toss the mug in the microwave and heat for another 30 seconds since the whisking of ingredients cools down the hot cocoa.
4. Toss in a vegan marshmallow or just go at the mug of deliciousness.

*Note: You can also just use unsweetened vegan milk and vegan chocolate but it does take a few more minutes and adds a lot more calories. Either way it’s amazing! Yum!

Calories 89.1, Total Fat 3.5g, Sodium 245.4 mg, Potassium 6.2 mg, Total Carb 13.9 g, Fiber 3.0 g, Sugar 9.9 g, Protein 2.0 g

