Tags

, , ,

Pea soup isn’t something that as a child my parents served. In fact, I don’t believe it has ever crossed my parents lips- it’s just a bit too healthy for them. That may sound mean however my parents are traditional Americans that love potatoes and meat. Sure, peas were on the table but not in soup form – that would just be too weird. Can you tell who the black swan is in the family? LOL Anything that has a nursery rhyme sung after it deserves a position in my kitchen though…. Do you know the British song?

Pease porridge hot,
Pease porridge cold,
Pease porridge in the pot
Nine days old.

My kitchen is a really boisterous location of the house – my husband always knows where I’m located so no one can steal me at any time. Yep, I’m a shower and a kitchen singer… oops, was that too much information? Um, yea, so I decided to make this soup seeing as I didn’t know what else to toss on the plates for dinner but I knew there was a package of frozen peas from Trader Joes’ just singing to me. Normally I think people make pease porridge from dry split peas but nope not me. The result was a slightly sweet soup that was also strangely savoring. It was a nice soup that could be served with a piece of bread for a full meal or as a side dish. Nom nom nom

1 pkg frozen peas (16oz)
2 c vegan broth (I used Better Than Bouillon chickenless broth
4 garlic cloves, haphazardly chopped (go for it, have some fun)
½ med onion, again haphazardly chopped (go ahead and live dangerously)

1. Heat a small pot on the stove on high. Place a tbsp of water (or oil if you don’t mind the fat) in the pot and sauté the onion and garlic until they turn translucent.
2. Add the frozen peas (don’t bother to thaw them) and sauté for a few minutes.
3. Add the broth and keep on high to bring to a boil. Boil the peas for a few more minutes until the peas are warmed through.
4. Pour the entire pot into a blender and give it a good whirl. We like ours similar to the senior citizen special (smooth) but if you like it chunky go ahead. This really isn’t a recipe that has rules.
5. Pour the soup back into the pot and add salt and pepper if you like, we didn’t but it was still tasty. Yum! Warm the soup up again until your desired temperature. Serve hot or cold. Nom nom nom

*Note: Sorry about the photo, it was a cold night and I was too lazy to worry about lightening. Please forgive me this once. ^_^

