Tags

, , , ,

Some people might be shocked but I’m not a big television person, I could go without one in the house without any issue. One thing I do love though is You Tube, I’m addicted to just about anything and while I work, I normally have a video going for the noise. Sounds strange to need noise, as many of you probably wish for the opposite, but working at home I really miss the general noise from the office place. Anyone else like this that works from home? But back to the point, I love watching You Tube Guru’s and how everyone really knows their style. A while back, a guru asked “what is your style”? I actually stopped working and thought about it and the only thing I could come up with was “hippie chic”. So from then on I always state that I’m “hippie chic”. My style generally flows right into my recipe recreations – or maybe they appear that way seeing as I just toss everything from the fridge into a pot and call it dinner. This recipe was inspired by what we had in the fridge but it doesn’t really have that many ingredients and you might have a lot of them in your own fridge.

Even though this doesn’t have many ingredients, the meal does have a ton of protein and really fills you up for hours. After my first bite, I knew I wanted to have this again and again. Nom nom nom The roasted beets are sweet, the rice is mellow, the lentils are a bit “beefy”, and the tofu is salty. It has just about a little bit of everything to tease the taste buds. Yum! (Serves 4)

4-5 Beets, minus the greens
1 c Japanese rice, cooked (any rice will work)
1 c Lentils
2 c vegan “beef” broth (or any vegan broth)
1 pkg Tofu, diced
2-4 tsp chef salt seasoning (or any seasoning you have on hand)
Pea soup (or any soup you have on hand)

1. Remove the skins from the beets and slice. You can do this step last but I find handling hot beets isn’t as fun. Wrap the slices in aluminum foil and place in a toaster oven or oven for about 30 minutes at 350F.
2. Place your dry lentils in a pot or rice cooker with the “beef” broth and cook according to the pkg. Personally I just toss the broth and rice in a rice cooker and let it cook away.
3. Heat a frying pan over high and sauté the diced tofu with the chef seasoning until slightly golden brown.
4. Warm up your pea soup or other side dish as you wish.
5. Toss all the finished ingredients together in one bowl and go at it. Yum!

*Note: This warms up nicely and worth a little work to get everything together. You could add some more vegetables if you would like depending on what you have available in your fridge.

