Tags

, , ,

Oh my, oh my… I just made the most amazing cupcake and you will never believe how I did it. Seriously, I’m still shocked. The husband and I have been eating microwave cupcakes for a while now but unfortunately try to stay clear as much as possible because the calories and the fat content. Normally a cupcake takes about 1 tbsp oil or an egg to really put it all together. Thankfully today I got the idea to make a cupcake without the oil but rather chia-seeds. Chia-seeds are toted as “super grains” in America right now but I’d like to just consider them magical beans. Following along Jack and the Beanstalk, just add water and your magic beans will grow. That’s what I did to make this recipe and wow it was hard to tell the difference. Nom nom nom I’m already dreaming of my next one…

2 tbsp flour (any kind: I’ve used oat flour and white wheat flour)
11/2 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp dark cocoa powder (omit if you want vanilla cupcake)
dash salt
dash cinnamon
1 tbsp chiaseed gel (chiaseeds mixed with water)*
11/2 tbsp water
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp almond extract
chocolate chips & Sprinkles (optional)

Mix everything together in a normal mug. Place in the microwave on high for one minute. Done! Enjoy this treat for 100 Calories!

*Note: Just mix chiaseeds with water and keep it in the fridge for up to two weeks. Then you can make as many cupcakes as you want without having to make more.

** You can make this ahead of time and cover with plastic wrap. Then take it to work so you have a nice warm cupcake at work!!! You will make everyone jealous.

