Tags

, , ,


Finally the hubs and I have a plan for 2013 full of goals and exercise plans to adhere to and keep each other accountable. Actually I have my daily schedule book filled to the brim with cleaning, workout, work plans so I keep on pace and never lose steam; guess one could say I’m a person who has to have a plan to keep rolling. My plans remind me of university syllabi our professors gave us for the entire course. Yep, I was one of those college dorks that not only followed along with the syllabi but actually worked ahead of it. Most of the time I managed to work so far ahead my coursework was completed at least 2-4 weeks before the end of each term. (Oops! Maybe I shouldn’t have shared that much information since now you all must think I’m a tool. Honestly I had a life during college and was even a member of a sorority (okay a band one) but never the less a social club.)

So one plan of ours is to prepare even less processed product meals, which leads us to soup. Each Friday we tend to become hermits (upon the husband’s request) and have casual movie night in… So during the next 2 months we plan (unless we tire of it) soup Fridays. We love soup not only because it’s easy to make but there are always leftovers to feast upon throughout the whole weekend so I don’t have to cook as much. Less time in the kitchen equals more time outside having fun.

This week I made an easy recipe with ingredients in my kitchen already. It’s Rosemary Infused Potato Soup.

Rosemary Infused Potato Soup
5-6 Potatoes
2-3 Sprigs Rosemary (via our dying rosemary tree)
½ pd carrots
1 lg onion
5-6 cloves garlic
½-1 tsp white pepper, ground
2 c. organic vegetable broth
Salt and pepper, optional

1. Cut potatoes along with the onions and carrots in quarters. Spray roasting pan and toss in potatoes, carrots, onions, garlic, and rosemary. Note: I only spray the pan to assure the vegetables don’t stick to the bottom. You may use olive oil if you aren’t watching your fat intake.

2. Add 2 cups water (or broth) into roasting pan with the vegetables. It more or less steams the vegetables instead of roasting but less mess than getting out steam basket. Cover with aluminum foil to steam properly.

3. Place in 400F oven for about 30 minutes. You know your vegetables are finished when a fork easily goes through.

4. Remove foil and roast an additional 10 minutes so potatoes get golden brown. (This is more for appearance but I always notice the vegetable get a bit more caramelized sweet by this last step.)

5. Place all ingredients in blender and puree until desired texture. Hubs loves his a little more chunky so ours isn’t smooth.

6. Pour mixture into pot on stove and add 2 cups broth and stir about 5 minutes until desired temperature.

