Tags

, ,

Unknown to me why, I’m on this large Mexican food kick right now… Every other normal day I love spicy food but for some reason I just can not get enough spicy Mexican food. Mmmm I constantly have tortillas in my household and also a can of fat free refried beans in the pantry. Which that reminds me, anyone have experience with a home tortilla maker? Or maybe make your own? I would love to make my own but I wouldn’t know where to even start. Suggestions?

But back to my dietary preference at the moment… So I’m totally adhered to refried beans so I decided I wanted to make some of my own at home. Dried refried beans are very reasonably priced and can save a lot on your weekly grocery budget. Personally I did not grow up with real Mexican food (there was not even one person in my school that was from Mexico!) so I had to look for outside sources to make a homemade batch. Thanks to Curvy Carrot (http://www.thecurvycarrot.com/2011/05/03/vegetarian-refried-beans/) (isn’t that the cutest name) for posting this delicious recipe that makes enough to fill about 7-8 cans. I did change the recipe a little so here it is:

16oz bag dry pinto beans (toss the hole bag in)
8-10 cups water, plus more if needed (I used 8)
1 tablespoons salt, or to taste
4 ounces vegetable oil

1. Combine the beans, water, and salt in a large pot and cook on med-high heat for 1.5 hours. The beans should be very soft.

2. Add the vegetable oil and mix well. (I didn’t add any oil and it worked out just fine.)

3. Mash the beans until thick and smooth. (Since I made this at a home I just used a sturdy glass and mashed it with the bottom.)

Enjoy! What is your favorite Mexican dish?

Note: This goes very well alone, topped with hot sauce (see photo), or in Genki Kitty’s Refried Bean Soup. Yum!

